Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Yummy and probably worth the work and time it takes to make these, but I would rather eat them than make them! I don't think the directions state to cut the phyllo in half before folding into triangles, but the how-to video explains it all. I froze a bunch to bake later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I live in a Greek neighbourhood, and this reicpe is awesome and VERY authentic. Tastes just as good, if not better from the local Greek shops. I got tired of buying fresh spanakopita all the time, and these are great and a lot cheaper then buying them as take-out. They are a little difficult, but definitely watch the spanakopita how-to video on this site. It makes everything a lot easier. I have a bunch in my freezer now, and they're perfect right out of the freezer and into the oven. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
So good! i decided to cut the time in half my cutting the phyllo in to horrible looking squares and bunched the phyllo around the spinach mixture... maybe it didn't look as great but tasted great... my Egyptian boy friend it reminded him of when he went to greece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I thought these were a little spinach-heavy, but overall a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
If you have the time and the patience this recipe taste amazing! I watched a video on food network on how to fold these, that helped me alot. Great recipe! If you do not take your time though, they will not come out right. For me its not worth my time to make them. But five stars on taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This recipe is so wonderful! I put in a dash of nutmeg with the dill and flour - I think it really makes a difference. I also use two sheets, then cut them into strips. Watch the 'how to' video for the confidence needed to tackle the phyllo dough. They are very easy once you make them the first time. I can cook the filling and stuff and fold them in about an hour. I do cut the sheets up into four strips to make four per two sheets for appetizers, or two big ones per two sheets if they are a main dish served with a greek salad. I now have made them five times, and they are always popular and my boyfriend always begs me to make extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I have made this recipe probably 20 times and every time they turn out delicious. The only thing that I omit is the dill because I never have it but we don't miss it. My kids love Spanakopita and ask for it regularly. It's so funny when they ask for it around other people....they get some strange looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We did a test run on this and even though before rolling it out on our un-american pot luck dinner and even though it's time consuming it's well worth the work! I received rave reviews from everyone that tried one. I served it them with tzatziki sauce, greek kabobs (both recipes from this site) and cous cous. Even for a novice beginner this was easy to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is an interesting take on spanakopita and certainly more authentic than thee other two here, however, if you want true authenticity, use olive oil instead of the butter (better for you, anyway) and the only cheese should be feta. If you don't care about authenticity, though, this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This was a delish recipe. Very time consuming but worth the trouble. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States