Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Absolutely FANTASTIC! The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because the directions are a little unclear and off. Cooking time was only 25 minutes - and I had a lot of extra phyllo dough. You only need ONE 16 ounce package. Only a few small tweaks. Used dill spice instead of fresh. Added a dash of nutmeg to the spinach mixture and used clarified butter. Cut phyllo sheets in quarters - and used 2 layers to roll one. Perfect appetizer size. Yum! I hope they are just as good leftover! Watch the video, it is really helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
The only reason why I didn't rate this five stars is because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used 1/3 of a cup of olive oil instead of veggie oil, only one onion (sautéed with 1 tsp of minced garlic), three eggs, added 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese, 1/4 tsp pepper (the feta is already somewhat salty), one package of Fillo brand phyllo dough (8 oz; it's already the appropriate size for a 9 x 13 pan), and about 1/4 cup of butter. I went for the layered spanakopita, with 10 sheets on phyllo on the top and bottom of the spanakopita and the spinach mixture sandwiched between (this is done by putting two sheets at a time in a buttered pan, brushing the top with butter, and adding two more sheets until you get 10 stacked sheets). Turned out great! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
My first time making and it turned out perfect! Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I use just a bit of oil in the filling and add extra feta. I've never found that I needed the flour, but I add it anyway. I use olive oil mixed with a bit of melted butter for brushing the pastry. I always have leftover oil/butter at the end. I put lots of filling (bunching it into a triangle before wrapping) and end up with only 14-19 pastries. I don't find the phyllo that difficult to work with if I move quickly. I keep the unused phyllo covered with a slightly damp cloth and use one sheet of phyllo per pastry, folding the sheet in half before adding the filling and wrapping it up like a flag. I don't worry too much about tearing the phyllo or making it look nice - they all end up looking pretty good once they're baked. This recipe takes me just over an hour plus baking time. They usually only need 20 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Yummy and probably worth the work and time it takes to make these, but I would rather eat them than make them! I don't think the directions state to cut the phyllo in half before folding into triangles, but the how-to video explains it all. I froze a bunch to bake later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I live in a Greek neighbourhood, and this reicpe is awesome and VERY authentic. Tastes just as good, if not better from the local Greek shops. I got tired of buying fresh spanakopita all the time, and these are great and a lot cheaper then buying them as take-out. They are a little difficult, but definitely watch the spanakopita how-to video on this site. It makes everything a lot easier. I have a bunch in my freezer now, and they're perfect right out of the freezer and into the oven. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
So good! i decided to cut the time in half my cutting the phyllo in to horrible looking squares and bunched the phyllo around the spinach mixture... maybe it didn't look as great but tasted great... my Egyptian boy friend it reminded him of when he went to greece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I thought these were a little spinach-heavy, but overall a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
If you have the time and the patience this recipe taste amazing! I watched a video on food network on how to fold these, that helped me alot. Great recipe! If you do not take your time though, they will not come out right. For me its not worth my time to make them. But five stars on taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This recipe is so wonderful! I put in a dash of nutmeg with the dill and flour - I think it really makes a difference. I also use two sheets, then cut them into strips. Watch the 'how to' video for the confidence needed to tackle the phyllo dough. They are very easy once you make them the first time. I can cook the filling and stuff and fold them in about an hour. I do cut the sheets up into four strips to make four per two sheets for appetizers, or two big ones per two sheets if they are a main dish served with a greek salad. I now have made them five times, and they are always popular and my boyfriend always begs me to make extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States