Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I'm giving this 4 stars because I really didn't care for the use of the phyllo dough in this recipe. I found the dough to be dry and very messy, however the spinach part was awesome so what I did was slice a loaf of french bread, drizzled it with evoo, baked till crunchy and just use it as a bread dip. Everyone loved it and thats the way I will make it from now on. Nice recipe, Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I added about 1/4 cup of parm, along with about 1 tsp of garlic powder and paprika to the filling. Sooo stinking good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
*TIP* Use butter flavored nonstick cooking spray instead of brushing melted butter over each phyllo sheet - it makes the process much more simple. Great authentic taste. My hubby loves them and they are perfect for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSI1832

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Very tasty, though time consuming to make. I froze half the batch and they still tasted great two weeks later. I also made miniture triangles out of mine to be served as appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Excellent recipe. I added a hint of lemon juice as well. Something I've learned with cheese fillings, though,--especially when it says "salt and pepper to taste"--is to scoop out a teaspoon or so and microwave it for 5ish seconds and taste it. You get a much better idea of the cooked filling's seasoning and are able to adjust it BEFORE it's already rolled/ folded/ layered/ baked... and too late. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
scrumptious and flavourful...i dont think using salt in the spinach mixture is necessary because i didnt, the feta cheese adds enough saltiness and flavour to them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
WATCH THE VIDEO! Not only will you yield more than 60 with the ingredients listed in the recipe, it also makes the process so much easier. Before putting then in the oven, I put a bit of butter on the top and then some sesame seeds. They looks beautiful and taste delicious. WATCH THE VIDEO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
After reading all the reviews this is what I did. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil to cook the onions, before adding the onions, I minced 2 garlic cloves and sauted them. I actually forgot to add the fresh dill. I omitted the flour. I used 3/4 lb of fresh spinach,steamed it,chopped it up and added it to the onions and garlic. I only used 3 eggs. To the feta cheese mixture, I added about 2 tbsp of fresh lemon juice. These were so easy to assemble. Just a note to not worry about figuring out how to fold them. On the box of Phyllo are all the ways you can bake with phyllo and it clearly states how to make the triangles. Also I didn't use 3/4 lb of butter...I used about 1/4 lb. for the whole batch! I cooked these for about 20 minutes `When my company ate these last night - they said "these are as good as..pardon me...even BETTER than that restaurant! In other words...a real hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Goddard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I substituted out 1/4 of the spinach for an equal amount of cream cheese (since I'm not actually Greek I can get away with it ;). I accidentally left out the egg and these still turned out great. Even without the added volume of the egg, I still yielded about 28 when using about 2 tbsp of filling in each. I took two sheets of phyllo, buttered in between them, then used a pizza cutter to slice the combined sheets into thirds from the long side. A lot of work, but they got a great reception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have made this several times now and it comes out perfect everytime. This sure does impress company!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gunpackingrandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States