Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
My daughter had to make Greek food for a school project and I thought, even though I know it's not the traditional preparation, individual servings would be good. In theory, it is. However, unless you are experienced at working with phyllo dough, the prep time is MUCH longer than 30 minutes. It took me well over an hour just to roll up the triangles. The flavor was pretty good. I agree with some others who said there was too much dill. I also think I would use less onion (maybe one large) and maybe more spinach. One last tip I got from a friend with a Greek wife (after I had already made them) - cut the feta with cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Watervliet, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Wow! Loved this, added more feta and a little parsley, but so amazing. Thought we wouldn't have room for dinner after eating these yummy appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Loved it! I made it as a pie instead of individual pastries and it turned out wonderfully. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These were terrific. I made a half batch but kept the cheese the same amount. They took a long time to roll out, it was my first time working with phyllo, and I was thinking that they weren't worth the time...until I ate one! I will definitley make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goosegreetings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JPMJ
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
The recipe isn't clear on working with the phyllo dough, although you can consult the box for instructions. To make the triangles I made one by taking a sheet and buttering half long-wise, then folded the sheet over. Then I folded it into triangles. I also made them smaller by cutting the sheet in half long-wise first and then following the same method as above with each half sheet. The small size would be perfect for appetizers. Note that 4 oz feta is 1 cup. The phyllo bakes quickly so I only cooked the pastries for 20 minutes. I think that I dried my spinach too much before cooking it. It would have become more tender in the frying pan with more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I absolutely loved the filling. It was hard to keep from eating it my itself. I added some parmesan simply because I like it. Because I am a lazy chef, instead of layering the 2 sheets of phyllo, I simply folded each in half lengthwise after buttering it, then started the flag style folding. Works well, and you won't have to worry about ending up with an odd number of phyllo sheets. I'd heard using cooking spray instead of butter works well enough for people trying to watch their diets. I tried that on the last few. The results were impressive enough. After all, the filling is the star here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Delicious! Simple! Because I love garlic, I saute garlic with the spinach and onions. Yummy. My husband and guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Really good--i think i would add some parmesan next time to give it a bit more of a bite. Great recipe, and there were none left at the end of our dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Elgin, Morayshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
These were amazing! I used a little more dill than called for and one less egg. I hate when I order these out and they taste too much like eggs. The flavour was amazing! Make sure to watch the instructional video if you've never used phyllo! Also make sure you squeeze all the excess moisture out of the spinach! These smoked a bit in the oven when I cooked them from fresh due to all the butter but they didn't smoke nearly as much and turned out better when cooked from frozen. Excellent crowd pleaser or just to pull out of the freezer and into the oven anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This recipe was excellent! Exactly like Spanakopita in good Greek restaurants. It really impressed my husband, and he is not easy to impress! I followed the recipe exactly. One thing I think I will do next time is coat the outside with more olive oil; the phyllo was a little too flaky and I prefer an oiler crust. The best thing about this recipe is how well it freezes. I made a huge batch and froze them. Just pop the frozen triangles in the oven and heat at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. They turn out great. Also, the video was helpful to me as a first time phyllo user.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States