Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I decided to make this dish as I had a lot of fresh spinach I needed to consume. It wasn't the baby variety unfortunately so I spent an awful lot of time cleaning and de-stemming. However it was definitely worth the effort! My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. Modifications I made: I didn't have ricotta so I doubled the quantity of feta. I added seasoning to the egg / feta mixture as well as a generous sprinkle of nutmeg. I cooked the spinach separately to ensure all moisture was removed first and then I added this to the onions and garlic which I sweated in butter and seasoned with dill. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was good but I thought it was on the bland side. I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta to lighten up (calories) the recipe. I also added salt and pepper but the dish still needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This wasn't as good as I expected it to be :( It needs more cheese and more seasoning... I wanted to flavor it up a bit and added black pepper & dill based on what I saw for other spanakopita recipes, but I wanted to stay true to the original recipe so I didn't add that much, unfortunately. It's not that it's BAD, it's just not special enough for the effort that was required
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This was my first attempt at Spanakopita and it was very tasty! A few variations: I cooked the spinach separately and then squeezed out some of the moisture. Sauted the onion, garlic and parsley and then added the already wilted spinach to that mixture. I used 12 sheets of phyllo dough and melted butter. Next time I'll use more phyllo on the bottom layer; maybe an 8 bottom/6 top ratio. I also used a 9x13 pan. Three 10 ounce bags of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisPixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
use baby spinach, 1.5 bags. double the garlic and feta.add dill and black pepper use egg beaters and lowfat ricotta. use 8 sheets phyllo on top and bottom. great to freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was very good- I did double the feta and use a mixture of butter and olive oil between the sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Awesome recipe and easy! Definitely saved. Used butter for phyllo sheets for a buttery flavor. I think this is a great spanakopita recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Delightful! Used melted butter on the phyllo, doubled the cheese amounts, caramelized the onions...perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Fantastic! We make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was fabulous! I modified it for personal taste, but the recipe as written would be great on its own. I used fresh baby spinach. I omitted the fresh parsley, and realized after I started making this that I didn't have fresh garlic, so for the spinach and onions, I sauteed them in the oil, then added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp fresh dill, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the mixture. I like mine a little creamier, so I used the eggs, 1 cup of ricotta, 2 cups of feta, and 8 oz full fat cream cheese for the filing. I also used 16 sheets phyllo dough (8 on the bottom, 8 on the top) and brushed the dough with melted butter instead of oil. It's more fattening this way, but so good. I live near Greektown, and this is better than what I get in the restaurants. My non-vegetarian fiance loved it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 446) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States