Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Very bland - it definitely needs more feta and SALT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powpow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This is a great recipe. I changed a few things. I added one small package of spinach, and a cup of chopped broccoli. Instead of feta cheese I used Farmers cheese. Gave it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This was my first time making spinach pie. It turned out really well. I used the bagged, washed,bagged spinach and it worked perfectly, held it's shape and wasnt too wet. My only complaint is that it was a bit bland. If I use this recipe again, i would use more feta and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Not a favorite of mine but it could just be a matter of taste. Just seemed like way to much spinach for me and my spinach was very dry yet it still came out very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this recipe for my father who loves Greek food. I needed to use up a lot of spinach from my CSA share. I had never used phyllo dough before, but it was a lot easier than I thought it would be. I did use about double the sheets of dough. It turned out so good that my father kept most of it for himself and said that this recipe was "a keeper". I will be making it again. I imagine using bagged baby spinach would be easier. This recipe is great and tastes like restaurant food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Heavenly! Very tasty! I found the phyllo dough wasa pain, but it was yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Oh my god this was good. I doubled the garlic and added an extra half cup of feta cheese. This was fantastic. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe was well received from my family (my kids couldn't get enough). I followed it as written with the exception that I used frozen spinach instead. After I thawed it out, I tried squeezing the spinach between two plates as suggested by Selea, but it didn't seem to do a good job (it probably works best with fresh spinach only). Here's what I did instead: I squeezed the excess water out by hand and sauteed the spinach in a bit of olive oil until the moisture was evaporated (about 5 minutes). Then I transfered it to a bowl to cool, sauteed the rest of the ingredients, added it to the spinach, and seasoned with salt and pepper. I proceeded with the rest of the recipe. A few other tips to avoid sogginess are 1) If there is excess liquid in the ricotta, then drain it off. 2) When brushing the phyllo dough, do NOT drench it in oil (or melted butter)! Brush only enough to give it flavour. I read this in a review of a popular Baklava recipe also found on this site. And one last tip: Let pie cool 10-15 minutes, to get more flavour out of the dish (Greeks traditionally let their meals cool to room temp to enjoy the full taste of a dish). This is a wonderful and elegant dish to wow your guests. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Very nice, thank you! Was perfect the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Thank you from the bottom of this detroit natives heart. Now living in New Orleans I can't find this one of my favorite dishes. I used frozen spinach and drained it between the 2 plates with paper towel liners to soak up the water!!! It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bshimoura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States