Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I'll find another recipe for Spanakopita before I'd make this one again, very bland filling and insufficient phyllo. If I do repeat I'd spice up the spinach mix, use butter instead of oil on the top phyllo sheets, increase the feta, increase the feta sheets to 8 top and bottom, move to a 9x13 pan as the 9x9 fit the dough sheets but 2# of spinach was too too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony DeSimone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Used Swiss Chard (white stemmed variety) called Silverbeet in New Zealand. Used low fat cottage cheese instead of feta. No nutmeg so used dash cayeene, Baked as a pie & it's a no fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Loved it. I'm glad there is no dill in this recipe because I think that makes a spinach pie taste weird. I increased the amount of both feta & ricotta because I really like cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Prep time for me was way more than 30 mins. Did add a bit more garlic and made up for the missing ricotta with more feta and a little cottage cheese. Also used melted butter instead of the olive oil on the advice of different reviews. Thank You So Much for this recipe, Silverwolf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Good. I make individual parcels for presentation and add Parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! This tasted better than any spanakopita I had in a restaturant. I didn't have as much spinach as was required, so I just used one package of fresh spinach and it was enough. I also didn't have parsley. No need it was great without it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe was great. I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand, so I made some substitutions, but it was so good. I made a second one 3 days later. I substituted mozarella for the feta (Didn't have any at home), and pie crust (didn't have phyllo at home). It turend out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made this recipe the other day; it is wonderful and very easy. It does need to be seasoned up a little bit, so I added salt, pepper and a quarter teaspoon of mace but there is a huge variety of herbs you could add to this to edge it away from blandness. For a family of four, I found I could halve the amount of spinach with no detriment to the end result: the amount recommended in the recipe is great but my pan won't cope with it. I used "1 Cal Spray Olive Oil" to oil between the leaves of phyllo dough. Thanks so much for this, Silverwolf - it's a super recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guildford, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've tried several spanikopita recipes, and this one was so far the best. What I really liked about this recipe is the instruction to ONLY cook the spinach for 2 minutes or until wilted. That is a key step (don't overcook the spinach mix because it changes the flavor and releases too much water). The other important thing I would add is to drain the spinach mixture (after cooked) in a fine mesh strainer to drain the excess liquid. Make sure it is completely cooled before adding the cheese. I would also HIGHLY recommend adding 1/4 cup of chopped fresh dill, which really adds flavor to the recipe. The only other modification I made was that I used a parmesan/asiago cheese mix instead of the ricotta - this substitution added more flavor. Overall, this was a great recipe and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is an awesome and was eaten right away at Thanksgiving. It will soft and messy if you don't prepare the spinich right though. I diced the spinich finely and then put it into a pot of boiling water for about five minutes to soften it. I drained it, ran it under cold water, and then hand squeezed the spinich until all of the water came out. You can put it in the bowl after this and use it. You won't have any problems with it being too stringy or running with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States