Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
My first time making spanakopita. I found this recipe easy to follow and the end result was delicious! I am making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
we usually make it that way but substitute dill for the parsley. if you put the whole stuffing in a food processor, the feta gets distributed better, but that's not really necessary. I sometimes add a lettuce in with the spinach but that's just me, the recipe is great without it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anatoli Likogianni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
5 star after my changes. I used a 10 oz box of baby spinach, 9x12 pan, 1 egg, otherwise the same. It is difficult to work with phyllo dough unless you use an olive oil cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Once you get used to working with phyllo dough, this recipe is a piece of cake and DELICIOUS! DH and I loved it! We were surprised at how nice leftovers crisped back up the next day once added to the oven to reheat. Highly recommend you try this. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I made this last week had an over abundance of swiss chard used this instead of spinach my family loved it.i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I did add more dough (1 sheet) to the bottom and top layers,more garlic (2 cloves), more Feta cheese (1/4th a cup), and some black pepper to the recipe, but I am reviewing to add that this recipe does actually reheat very well if you pay attention to the moisture cautions added by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mardis
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
So easy and delicious. The best part is you don't need to be exact with the measurements of the filling, just use as much spinach and cheese and you have or like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
PERFECT! This was everything that I was hoping it would be; I also added some shredded chicken that I had leftover, to make it a one-dish meal! Thanks! I was so pleased that my 7-year old even gobbled up all that spinach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I served this as our "Meatless Monday" dinner last night. Not well-received by DH or DD, however, I will definitely make it again in a smaller proportion for myself! I used a 9x13 Pyrex dish, well oiled. I used 8 sheets of phyllo brushed with melted butter, then layered the filling, which were ingredients I had available: 2 sautéed Vidalia onions in 2T butter, some minced garlic, onion powder, black pepper and a pinch of nutmeg. I used an entire 15oz container of ricotta, 6oz of feta as well as a couple small handfuls of shredded parmesan. As I mixed the feta/ricotta/egg mixture, I kept in mind the "it was bland and tasteless" comments, so I also generously seasoned the cheese mixture with garlic/onion powders, black pepper, nutmeg and chives. I had to omit the parsley and green onion, which I didn't have. I used a tub of baby spinach (stems removed and coarsely chopped) and didn't wilt the spinach at all since it would wilt in the mixture while baking. Topped with 8 more phyllo sheets sprayed with butter-flavored Pam (I was in a hurry at this point). Baked for 35 minutes and it was perfect! I'll scale it down into an 8x8 dish next time for myself. Reheated a couple squares today for lunch and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I'll find another recipe for Spanakopita before I'd make this one again, very bland filling and insufficient phyllo. If I do repeat I'd spice up the spinach mix, use butter instead of oil on the top phyllo sheets, increase the feta, increase the feta sheets to 8 top and bottom, move to a 9x13 pan as the 9x9 fit the dough sheets but 2# of spinach was too too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States