Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Came out great overall. I also live in Southeastern Michigan, and just got some bad spinach pie (overcooked, dried out, probably re-heated) and was determined to make my own. Next time I'd use olive oil spray on the phyllo dough as others have suggested, and bulk up the feta as well, and would season the filling with lemon pepper for some extra punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This came out amazing! Lots of flavor, thank you so much, also that you for the other comments on the advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is a great recipe. My only changes I make are add a dash of nutmeg to spinach mixture ( it adds amazing flavor) and I also add a few more sheets of phyllo to the top!!! Other than that this is by far the best recipe I have found. I lie i crisply just remembered I also use way more feta than original recipe calls for??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Mertz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Love greek spanakopita. FROZEN spinach is a better value and saves a ton on time. More fresh herbs! I always add fresh DILL and MINT. I make a bunch of individual servings to freeze by rolling about 4tbsp of mixture in a single sheet if phyllo like a burrito log then spiral it. This style looks really fancy and having them in the freezet is the perfect go-to for last minute dinner party or for the kids to throw in the oven for a healthy after school snack. Kali oreksi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexandra
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is a great recipe for PITA. My grandmother "Yia Yia" was born in Greece and baked this every holiday. The only ingredient that I would include are chopped leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
It took me 3 hours. I did double the recipe and used butter instead of oil, as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sallyrucker
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Next time I will "Lightly" apply to olive oil to the sheets of dough. Otherwise this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arivaca, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Wonderful spinach pie!! I altered the recipe as follows: added a few sliced carrots to the spinach mixtures, plus pepper & some cinnamon. I used 16 sheets of phyllo, not 8. Instead of regular olive oil. I used a whole fruit lemon infused oil....that added a lovely aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
My first time working with phyllo dough. Yes keep it moist!! It was easier than I thought it would be to make and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Love this, and easily made it vegan, too. I used a 9x13 pan, my mistake, but it was still amazing :) I did add the juice of a lemon (about 3 tablespoons) and a generous teaspoon of dried dill. I'm sure it would have been delicious w/o, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States