Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This was a creamy spinach pie with a crisp factor from the phyllo dough. A few more sheets were added than the original recipe specified to get more crust. A very important thing to note is that you must press the excess water out of the spinach mixture before it is mixed with the cheese. Failure to do so will result in soggy dough. I seasoned my cheese and spinach mixture as well. These were interesting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This recipe is amazing and was a monster hit. Worked great as a dish for a party I threw also - there wasn't a scrap left of it! I up the amount of spinach, though, and put in a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreese

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brunswick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cc
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Needs some salt for flavor if you didn't double the feta. Do an egg wash on top for better browning/crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Excellent recipe and great to freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
You can use frozen chopped spinach instead of fresh. Let it thaw completely and squeeze the excess water out by hand. Makes a big difference. I've never needed to chill mixture prior to set up in the pan. Just my two cents. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniellamorreno
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was my first time making spanakopita, first time ever using phyllo dough actually. I was running low on spinach so I cut that in half, didn't use green onions, but added one diced tomato because I had it laying around. I also had some ground turkey in the fridge that needed to be used so I thought, "Hey, why not?"... Cooked the ground turkey and threw it into the cheese and spinach mixture... man was it great! Obviously not traditional spanakopita, but the ground turkey certainly made it more a meal. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Came out great. I listened to many other reviewer's tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My co-workers now request this every time there is a potluck at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I had pretty good results from this recipe, and can see how a few modifications could make it even better. I used frozen chopped spinach to simplify things. The cooked spinach should be rung dry...I put it in a colander lined with paper towels, covered it with more paper towels and pressed as much water out as I could, then let it sit with a pot full of water on top of it while I prepared the phyllo. Before mixing it with other ingredients, I wrapped it in a couple of dry towels and squeezed out any remaining moisture. You definitely need more sheets of phyllo; I ended up using about ten layers on top and ten on bottom, and these I alternately sprayed with olive oil mist and butter flavored spray. It would have been better with more feta, so would double that up next time. Was good with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
We prefer to add some DILL to it also. It gives it more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States