Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alexandra
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is a great recipe for PITA. My grandmother "Yia Yia" was born in Greece and baked this every holiday. The only ingredient that I would include are chopped leeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
You are out of your mind if you think this can be prepped in 30 minutes. It took me 3 hours. Granted I did double the recipe, but still very time-consuming. I used butter instead of oil, as others recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sallyrucker
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Next time I will "Lightly" apply to olive oil to the sheets of dough. Otherwise this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arivaca, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Wonderful spinach pie!! I altered the recipe as follows: added a few sliced carrots to the spinach mixtures, plus pepper & some cinnamon. I used 16 sheets of phyllo, not 8. Instead of regular olive oil. I used a whole fruit lemon infused oil....that added a lovely aspect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
My first time working with phyllo dough. Yes keep it moist!! It was easier than I thought it would be to make and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Love this, and easily made it vegan, too. I used a 9x13 pan, my mistake, but it was still amazing :) I did add the juice of a lemon (about 3 tablespoons) and a generous teaspoon of dried dill. I'm sure it would have been delicious w/o, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My family has been making this for years as we are Greek. I am first generation here in the U.S., this is very close to how its made on the island Crete except there is no ricotta cheese in it and either dill or mint is added. Most people add mint and there is no garlic in it and melted butter is used on the phyllo dough instead of olive oil, although the olive oil is a healthier option. And also when the spinach and onions are cooked put it in a strainer and press the water out with a spoon until mixture is dry. No need to let it cool. And when you take it out of the oven cover it with a damp cloth while it cools for a little bit to prevent top dough from drying out and crumbling. My mom experimented and added some plain flavored cream cheese to the feta cheese and eggs and it came out delicious. Everyone always raves about it. I make this same recipe all the time and my grown children also make this recipe for their family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used frozen spinach and it came out amazing! Plus, I think using frozen spinach is better because you can squeeze out the water prior to putting it in the saucepan, which eliminates having to drain the mixture afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Kuhlmeier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Turned out pretty good. But prepping the spinach took forever, maybe I did something wrong but this took me three hours to make. The parsley does not add anything. Not worth it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Renee Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States