Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is a great recipe, no doubt. There are a few points that should be emphasized. First, the instructions state that the mixture should be cooled before assembly. This should be in capital letters. There's something about letting the mixture set-up somewhat to reduce the amount of moisture...that thing that everyone is saying to avoid. Excess moisture kills this dish. I spun my spinach dry before chopping it and adding it to the pan, but go to great lenghts to introduce as little extra moisture as possible. On the subject of spinach, I think the recipe implies the dirty bunch-spinach, not the pre-washed baby spinach. I found I lost about 1/3 weight from the bunch spinach after discarding the undesirables and destemming. Baby spinach is more expensive, but you can take it right out of the container, chop it and throw it in the pan. If you use bunch spinach, account for the extra time it'll take you to clean and destem the stuff...huge PITA, but much cheaper. Also, you can't go wrong with extra phyllo. I wouldn't layer it in the middle, because it'll just be a doughy mess between the layers of filling. But to have eight sheets on the top AND bottom would not do you wrong. Finally, I found this dish rocks coming out of the freezer and going right into the oven. Prepare it the same just to the point it goes in the oven. Take the whole frozen kit and caboodle right to the oven, add some extra cooking time (20-30 mins) and it turns out identical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
In a cooking class, many years ago, I learned the trick of dry spinach to be used in a recipe. No need for pressing in a strainer. Just place the spinach on a plate, cover it with another plate (same side up). Holding vertically, press the two plates together, over the sink, until liquid stops flowing. Result = VERY dry spinach! Using this method, I have never had a sogginess problem with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
OMG, this was good! Never used phyllo dough before, so relied heavily on advice from other reviewers & my own preferences: 1) sauteed onion/garlic in 2 T butter/1 T olive oil for more flavor; 2) increased green onions to 2 bunches; 3) doubled the garlic; 4) decreased the spinach (used 1 6-oz bag prewashed baby spinach + about another cup just because that was what I had); 5) decreased parsley to 1/4 cup; 6) added 2 T fresh dill to spinach/onion mixture at the end (didn't cook it; dill too fragile; just let it get warmed by rest of mixture; 7) drained spinach mixture in a fine strainer while I worked on filling & dough; 8) doubled the feta; 9) added fresh ground pepper to the filling 10) brushed phyllo dough with butter rather than olive oil (for flavor & better browning; 11) used 9x13 baking pan; 12) used 8 sheets phyllo on bottom (4 laid out flat; then 4 more overlapping the pan, with HALF of spinach/cheese/egg mixture in those last four, folded over filling, sealing it in; then 4 more phyllo sheets overlapping pan with other HALF of filling, then folding those sheets over the filling, & topping that with 4 more phyllo sheets (butter brushed on each one from bottom to top). This was DELICIOUS; it wasn't soggy & tasted like Greek restaurant food. PS: I also cut it into squares BEFORE baking it! And the 2nd time I made it, I forgot to drain the spinach mixture, and the leftovers were definitely soggy the next day! You're amazing, Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
I love spanakopita and have been making it forever. I use frozen spinach (make sure to squeeze all the water out), use olive oil flavored cooking spray instead of brushing, omit the green onion, and occassionally use ricotta. I am a fan of the traditional triangular shapes so i layer 2-3 sheets of fillo per triangle. to keep dough from becoming a sticky or dried out mess, make sure its fully thawed before use, and properly covered while working. plastic wrap and dishtowel does the trick. the biggest problem i have with this recipe is: THERE ARE NEVER ANY LEFTOVERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This was a great recipe that I have used over and over again! MY kids love it! I add more feta and triple the garlic so there is more flavor. My mother used to make this all the time and she gave me a great hint...Pre cut it BEFORE you bake it for the phyllo won't crack and break nearly as much...just be gentle in the cutting for the phyllo is slippery! Oh, and fresh parley is a must, do not used dried. Wonderful served with Greek salad and pita bread with hummus! Thanks, Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This was an excellent recipe. I used the same amount of filling for a 9 x 13 inch pan and it was well proportioned (I added a little extra feta). I would definitely suggest straining the spinach mixture before spreading over the phyllo dough. Excellent flavor!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
I didn't particularly enjoy this, although it was my own fault. I have never worked with fresh spinach before and did not remove the stems before putting it into the food processor. The stems made it bitter and stringy. REMOVE THE STEMS AND ONLY USE THE LEAVES and I'm sure you'll enjoy this much more than I did. It looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I live in Michigan ...and this taste like the pie i get from one of the Greek Town resturants. Thank you so much!!! My hubby loved it!!! and we are very picky I used butter for my phyllo dough and I added a little salt and pepper, dill weed and nutmeg...Very, Very, good :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
great recipe....very tasty filling next time though, i wouldn't make as much filling it was too much stuffing, not enough dough use more phyllo, like 7 sheets also, it was very soggy i think i should've drained the filling before putting it in the pan to bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I just got done eating this for dinner, and it was wonderful! All the other review information on the proper way to cook spinach was too intimidating, so I just used frozen spinach and it was still awesome. We have decided to put in two extra layers of dough next time (in the middle) because we really like it with more dough, but this recipe was overall great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States