Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
use baby spinach, 1.5 bags. double the garlic and feta.add dill and black pepper use egg beaters and lowfat ricotta. use 8 sheets phyllo on top and bottom. great to freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was very good- I did double the feta and use a mixture of butter and olive oil between the sheets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Awesome recipe and easy! Definitely saved. Used butter for phyllo sheets for a buttery flavor. I think this is a great spanakopita recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KISSTHECHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Delightful! Used melted butter on the phyllo, doubled the cheese amounts, caramelized the onions...perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Fantastic! We make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was fabulous! I modified it for personal taste, but the recipe as written would be great on its own. I used fresh baby spinach. I omitted the fresh parsley, and realized after I started making this that I didn't have fresh garlic, so for the spinach and onions, I sauteed them in the oil, then added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp fresh dill, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the mixture. I like mine a little creamier, so I used the eggs, 1 cup of ricotta, 2 cups of feta, and 8 oz full fat cream cheese for the filing. I also used 16 sheets phyllo dough (8 on the bottom, 8 on the top) and brushed the dough with melted butter instead of oil. It's more fattening this way, but so good. I live near Greektown, and this is better than what I get in the restaurants. My non-vegetarian fiance loved it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this for my daughter's birthday. She loves the spinich pie from the local Greek restaurant so it was a good exucse to try this recipe. I used fat free feta (an attempt to cut out a few calories) and it was wonderful, just like at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ellington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I loved this, my son asked for a little bit more cheese. I don't see any issues at all. Simple, quick and delic!!! YUMMMMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
very bland, with additional spices (thyme, basil) with salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. I used a tip from a chef, instead of brushing each fillo sheet I just sprayed it with canola oil cooking spray which cut down on the saturated fat. I also recommend increasing the fillo to 10 sheets and cutting it prior to cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States