Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mardis
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
So easy and delicious. The best part is you don't need to be exact with the measurements of the filling, just use as much spinach and cheese and you have or like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
PERFECT! This was everything that I was hoping it would be; I also added some shredded chicken that I had leftover, to make it a one-dish meal! Thanks! I was so pleased that my 7-year old even gobbled up all that spinach!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I served this as our "Meatless Monday" dinner last night. Not well-received by DH or DD, however, I will definitely make it again in a smaller proportion for myself! I used a 9x13 Pyrex dish, well oiled. I used 8 sheets of phyllo brushed with melted butter, then layered the filling, which were ingredients I had available: 2 sautéed Vidalia onions in 2T butter, some minced garlic, onion powder, black pepper and a pinch of nutmeg. I used an entire 15oz container of ricotta, 6oz of feta as well as a couple small handfuls of shredded parmesan. As I mixed the feta/ricotta/egg mixture, I kept in mind the "it was bland and tasteless" comments, so I also generously seasoned the cheese mixture with garlic/onion powders, black pepper, nutmeg and chives. I had to omit the parsley and green onion, which I didn't have. I used a tub of baby spinach (stems removed and coarsely chopped) and didn't wilt the spinach at all since it would wilt in the mixture while baking. Topped with 8 more phyllo sheets sprayed with butter-flavored Pam (I was in a hurry at this point). Baked for 35 minutes and it was perfect! I'll scale it down into an 8x8 dish next time for myself. Reheated a couple squares today for lunch and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I'll find another recipe for Spanakopita before I'd make this one again, very bland filling and insufficient phyllo. If I do repeat I'd spice up the spinach mix, use butter instead of oil on the top phyllo sheets, increase the feta, increase the feta sheets to 8 top and bottom, move to a 9x13 pan as the 9x9 fit the dough sheets but 2# of spinach was too too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony DeSimone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Used Swiss Chard (white stemmed variety) called Silverbeet in New Zealand. Used low fat cottage cheese instead of feta. No nutmeg so used dash cayeene, Baked as a pie & it's a no fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Loved it. I'm glad there is no dill in this recipe because I think that makes a spinach pie taste weird. I increased the amount of both feta & ricotta because I really like cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Prep time for me was way more than 30 mins. Did add a bit more garlic and made up for the missing ricotta with more feta and a little cottage cheese. Also used melted butter instead of the olive oil on the advice of different reviews. Thank You So Much for this recipe, Silverwolf!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Good. I make individual parcels for presentation and add Parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! This tasted better than any spanakopita I had in a restaturant. I didn't have as much spinach as was required, so I just used one package of fresh spinach and it was enough. I also didn't have parsley. No need it was great without it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe was great. I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand, so I made some substitutions, but it was so good. I made a second one 3 days later. I substituted mozarella for the feta (Didn't have any at home), and pie crust (didn't have phyllo at home). It turend out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States