Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is my favourite spanakopita recipe, it's delicious. The only change I make is adding a bit of dried dill to the filling and maybe some extra feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Excellent. I sauteed sliced shitake mushrooms with the onion/garlic/green onion mixture and added a tsp of lemon, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is really good. I've made it a few times. Sometimes I replace half the spinach with kale, or switch out the type of dough, it always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is such a great recipe. I turned it into a main dish. I'm definitely not Greek so sorry if my changes weren't according to Greek custom. I browned a super lean pound of hamburger meat with one chopped yellow onion, about 1/2 tsp salt and two chopped cloves of garlic. As I did this, I steamed some white rice in my rice cooker. Once the meat and onion were browned, I added about 1.5 cups of the steamed rice to the meat and mixed them together. I then set this aside. I then went on to follow the recipe to a T until I got to the Phyllo part. I turned it into a 9 X 13 casserole so the sheets are the exact size and it can hold the extra meat/rice mixture. After layering four phyllo sheets on the bottom, I topped with meat/rice mixture and then spread the sheeese/spinach mixture evenly over the top of the meat/rice layer. I then topped with the four phyllo sheets as called for which were again the exact size and it turned out to be a perfect size family casserole. This might sound funny, but I purposely cut a few of my phyllo top sheets to get more crusty edges since they fit almost too perfectly. I like a flakey top. I baked the whole thing at 350 for 40 minutes and it was delicious. No sides required. I didn't even serve it with bread since it had rice in it and then the phyllow dough. I cut it like a lasagna and it was beautiful. I got 12 decent size pieced. This one is a keeper. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Used a 16 oz bag of frozen spinach - thawed and well drained. Added salt to the final mix. Used olive oil spray instead of butter or olive oil on the layers. Added a few more layers to top and bottom and also added a middle layer. Cooked for 45 minutes - took about three minutes at the very end to darken the top layer. It turned out great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe will become one of my favorites of all time, after I add my tweaks. I followed the advice of StewartFip; I layered the bottom as well and skipped layering the middle. I drained any excess moisture (this is essential). I used 1 package of dry baby spinach (1 pound or maybe a little less is fine, 2 lbs is a lot) The end result could have been even better, so here's my 2 cents- I would have spent the time crisping up the bottom 8 layers in the oven prior to adding the filling. I would have used butter instead of olive oil to layer the phyllo (yes higher in fat but I don't like the taste of soggy olive oil soaked pastry.) This recipe was entirely lacking salt. Adding some parmesan cheese to the filling along with the feta would have been good, and added some salt. My local greek restaurant makes spanakopita casserole style too, I swear there is some kind of lemony element in it. Maybe next time I will add just the teeniest bit of lemon juice. You don't have to serve this right out of the oven, it was even better when we ate it the next morning as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Cookie!!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Made it for the first time for dinner and it was wonderful! Thx SELEA for posting the tip regarding draining the spinach with two plates - worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I love this recipe, but I would like to add a couple smart cooking suggestions..... don't forget salt and pepper!!!! salt the onions while you caramelize them. And I also use whole wheat fillo dough to give it a little healthier side. You can't taste the difference and it makes me feel better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was fantastic. I followed the recipe almost exact. The only thing I changed was I added salt and pepper, 1 extra clove of garlic and I used fresh spinach. I did not find it soggy at all. Terrific taste just the way the recipe is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This was good, but I made some adjustments. First, no one mentioned the need for salt, so I added 1/2 tsp. (and 1/2 tsp. pepper, as another reviewer mentioned adding pepper). I would use 1 tsp. salt and 1/2 tsp. pepper next time - 2 lbs. is a lot of spinach, and you still have all those onions and 2 eggs! I used lowfat ricotta and feta, and they had no effect on the mixture (I think I would use 1/2 cup more feta next time). You have to give the spinach about 7-10 minutes to fully wilt, and spinning it in the salad spinner took away a lot of water, but it still wasn't enough. I think I'll use 3 boxes frozen, and thaw it and wring it out with my hands next time before adding. Believe it or not, the restaurants use the frozen spinach, and it still tastes great! I used 6 sheets phyllo dough on the bottom, and 6 sheets on the top - that was perfect, and it held together nicely. I think next time I will alternate how I lay the sheets in, so that you don't have one side of the pan have just a little overhang, while the other side has a lot of overhang. I did top the final sheet with some olive oil, and that made it pretty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States