Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Yummy! Tripled the garlic, doubled the phyllo, and added some nutmeg, dill, and lemon juice. Will be making again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is one of my FAVORITE recipies! My sister has requested this recipie for her birthday dinner the last 2, 3 years in a row. I decided to give it a whirl for her one year and it's just been insanely addictive! My husband (who isn't a huge fan of spinach) has even requested me to make this for him as well. :) It's VERY simple to follow and the ingredients are simple as well. I have found that the pie form is much easier than the individual triangles so this recipie is just all around easy. I found it also takes a bit longer to prepare...but that's just depending on how pretty you want to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabeack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I've been wanting to make spanakopita for a long time but unfortunately it didn't seem to catch any one's interest. And then.....there was that dreaded S ingredient. I have at last graduated from the school of "Putting Everyone Else First" and my choices now hold some menu merit. Great flavours in the spinach cheese filling mix and the phyllo doughs texture and appearance. Thank you for sharing a great recipe SILVERWOLF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
What a PITA to chop ALL of that fresh spinach, but it sure pays to use fresh - what a taste difference, texture, too. I know others substituted frozen, but I would not. Take the time to use the fresh spinach. This is a keeper. This takes longer than 30 min for prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Sooooo delicious! I used to go to a Greek Festival every summer that had the best Spanakopita, and this definitely matches it! I used one box of frozen spinach instead of the fresh because it was cheaper and easier, I thawed it of course and squeezed it in cheesecloth to get all the water out, and then continued with the recipe. I also made sure to let my ingredients cool before assembling the dish, as another reviewer suggested. I used double the phyllo dough on both top and bottom, because I like a really crunchy crust. This recipe makes a very thick (deep) dish, like 3-inch thick slices, so if you do not like it so thick maybe put it in a 9X13 pan instead, but I thought it was perfect. Even my husband (who is a die-hard meat and potatoes guy) loved this and said it was very satisfying. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
5 stars for the recipe, no stars for the stated prep time! My gosh, just made this (for the third time) the other day, and once again, this took me over 2 hours to make, not to mention the cleanup! No doubt about it: this recipe is the real deal, one of the best I've found on the web, and it's a serious dish! I followed the suggestions from others, most especially from StewartFip, in regards to cooling the mixture before assembling! No kidding - and that part (directions, part 2) should be in caps! Other than that, I mixed in some melted butter with the olive oil, while brushing the phyllo dough - figuring the extra calories wouldn't matter, in the long run! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was delicious! I made it twice. The first time I followed the recipes verbatim. The second time I added a teaspoon of nutmeg and one chopped leek. I served it with a tzatziki sauce (1 cucumber, 1 1/2 cups of greek yogurt, 2 tbls. dill, splash of vinegar, a tablespoon of olive oil, salt to taste, juice from a lemon slice.) Excellent. Ill be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Turned out great I used a lot of the suggestions that others made for instance more layers of filo on the bottom and using fresh parsley. I used baby spinach and frozen and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Good recipe, just am SO used to having fresh DILL in the recipe the way my Mom makes it! The dill gives the spinach pie a very fresh and great smelling scent to it, as well as the added taste. Definitely try it with dill. Use about 1/2 a bunch per large pan, or 1/4 bunch per 9X9 pan. I would also omit the parsley if you use the dill. Another change I would definitely make is omit the ricotta cheese and find yourself some Bulgarian Feta Cheese. The real Greek supermarkets have this and is SOOOO much better for spinach pie than domesticated feta. The imported Greek feta is just too expensive, and kind of gets lost in al that spinach. Another small change is omit the garlic, and add a couple of leaves of dried mint, crumpled throughout the mixture. I know it is unusual, but trust me, it does something to the mixture that gives it "air". And of course, as suggested by several, DRY the spinach out! The number one thing that ruins this dish for most is excess moisture! Also, when you brush the phyllo with olive oil, brush JUST enough to each layer to allow for browning of the phyllo. Too much gets oily, and none at all makes for other issues. Spread the oil best you can without drowning it. Do not be afraid to use frozen spinach... works just as fine with less work! Just make sure and get "chopped" spinach not "leaf" spinach. You'll know the dish is ready when you lift any corner and notice that it all comes up together without being soggy. Should be nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was okay. I added more spices, after I realized how few it had in it. Was not good as leftovers (soggy). Not sure I would make it again. Expensive and time consuming meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Designer Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States