Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
My first time working with phyllo dough. Yes keep it moist!! It was easier than I thought it would be to make and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Love this, and easily made it vegan, too. I used a 9x13 pan, my mistake, but it was still amazing :) I did add the juice of a lemon (about 3 tablespoons) and a generous teaspoon of dried dill. I'm sure it would have been delicious w/o, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
My family has been making this for years as we are Greek. I am first generation here in the U.S., this is very close to how its made on the island Crete except there is no ricotta cheese in it and either dill or mint is added. Most people add mint and there is no garlic in it and melted butter is used on the phyllo dough instead of olive oil, although the olive oil is a healthier option. And also when the spinach and onions are cooked put it in a strainer and press the water out with a spoon until mixture is dry. No need to let it cool. And when you take it out of the oven cover it with a damp cloth while it cools for a little bit to prevent top dough from drying out and crumbling. My mom experimented and added some plain flavored cream cheese to the feta cheese and eggs and it came out delicious. Everyone always raves about it. I make this same recipe all the time and my grown children also make this recipe for their family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used frozen spinach and it came out amazing! Plus, I think using frozen spinach is better because you can squeeze out the water prior to putting it in the saucepan, which eliminates having to drain the mixture afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Kuhlmeier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Turned out pretty good. But prepping the spinach took forever, maybe I did something wrong but this took me three hours to make. The parsley does not add anything. Not worth it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Renee Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I used cleaned & boxed baby spinach. I did the recipe exactly as instructed. DRAIN THE SPINACH AFTER COOKING. Dish way better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was pretty good. The filling is off though - I pressed the water out of the spinach but not enough - I will work harder on it next time. It was missing something - dill or maybe a little mint...lemon zest - it needs to be perked up. Oh and definitely salt/pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
To avoid soggy ...I butter each phyllo dough sheet (olive oil if you like) and I use lots of phyllo on the bottom, seven sheets..and then I bake those sheets.....let them cool then add your ingredients... prevents ever being soggy Of course you will then layer the top and bake according to instructions...and its never soggy...Give it a try...you'll be surprised... I also prior to cutting my spinach up put it in a small hole laundry bag and spin dry it on AIR in the dryer if I'm having a big party..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
i thought the pie turned out pretty well, but the taste was more like quiche. would make this again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States