Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I used frozen spinach and it came out amazing! Plus, I think using frozen spinach is better because you can squeeze out the water prior to putting it in the saucepan, which eliminates having to drain the mixture afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Kuhlmeier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Turned out pretty good. But prepping the spinach took forever, maybe I did something wrong but this took me three hours to make. The parsley does not add anything. Not worth it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianna Renee Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I used cleaned & boxed baby spinach. I did the recipe exactly as instructed. DRAIN THE SPINACH AFTER COOKING. Dish way better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This was pretty good. The filling is off though - I pressed the water out of the spinach but not enough - I will work harder on it next time. It was missing something - dill or maybe a little mint...lemon zest - it needs to be perked up. Oh and definitely salt/pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrolivi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Illinois, USA
Living In: Alburnett, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
To avoid soggy ...I butter each phyllo dough sheet (olive oil if you like) and I use lots of phyllo on the bottom, seven sheets..and then I bake those sheets.....let them cool then add your ingredients... prevents ever being soggy Of course you will then layer the top and bake according to instructions...and its never soggy...Give it a try...you'll be surprised... I also prior to cutting my spinach up put it in a small hole laundry bag and spin dry it on AIR in the dryer if I'm having a big party..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
i thought the pie turned out pretty well, but the taste was more like quiche. would make this again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was fantastic. I too would double the amount of phyllo and i'll make sure to minimize the liquid in the filling. For my first batch this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This was my first time making spanakopita...we've been eating it from a local supplier/baker to our natural food store, and have been loving it. I finally decided to make it and loved all of the reviews of this recipe. It was easy to make, and with some of the reviewer suggestions, it came out perfect!! I omitted the parsley, used a little dill and nutmeg, and was sure to squeeze out any excess moisture. My husband loved it. I will be making it again and again!! Thanks Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
As another reviewer or two have mentioned CHILL the spinach mixture in the fridge before assembling it with the phyllo for baking. This is a wonderful recipe -- and very close to the classic -- and well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States