Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Spam rules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
After living in Hawaii for several years, I can say this is the first recipe I've found that truly captures the taste of "Ohana". Great job! I used to buy these every day at the local market on Kalihi St. on the way to work... mmmm. Makes for a great fast breakfast munchy while on the run. :) Try this with the Spicy Spam and it tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sushi Guy

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I'm from Hawaii and I love making/eating spam musubi. Recipe looks good, I would suggest buying a musubi maker from any Japanese market, it will make the end product a lot easier to make. To add more flavor to the rice, I add 1 cup of rice vinegar with 1 cup sugar mixed into the hot rice just after it's finished cooking (for 3 cups of uncooked rice). I would try to get 10-14 slices from 1 can of spam for best spam to rice ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
This tasted like the Spam Masubi you would buy in a restaurant! I cut the sugar in half and made 20 mini Spam Masubi's and it was great!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
The marinade was delicious. I didn't know it was the oyster sauce that was missing when I tried making this at home before. It's my favorite breakfast food. I used low sodium soy sauce and low sodium Spam and went easy on the sugar. Turn on a fan and let it blow the vinegar off the rice for a lovely shine while you cook the meat. Don't crank up the heat too much under the meat or the marinade will burn. If shaping by hand, wet your hands in water and squish the rice into shape. I am used to rice sandwiching both sides of the meat. I also like the furikake or goma seasoning (black and white sesame seeds toasted with salt) sprinkled all over it for crunch. This is sacrilege, but I have used a thin sheet of egg omelette instead of nori for my seaweed fearing husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This tasted just like the ones I get at in Japantown! Handling the rice was a bit tricky for me because it kept sticking to my hands, but it was worth it in the end. I might try using my rice cooker to cook the rice next time because I think the rice may have turned out a too mushy. The marinate for the Spam was delicious, but a lot of it dripped into my wok and burned as I was frying it. Shaping the musubi was time consuming, but it was a great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I also like to eat them for breakfast just make scrambled eggs and add it with your spam or use portugese sausage instead of spam. It's Da Best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mpule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Being an "Island Boy," I like to find recipes for 'local' food. It reminds me of home and is usually considered comfort food to me. I've been making musubi for years but have never made it with the marinade. Very good! Like others suggested, cook on low heat. That sugar will start to caramelize real quick and burn if your heat is too high. I put some furikake mix in with the rice just for some extra flavor. You can get furikake mix from many asian food stores. I usually get the basic 'nori komi' mix (great over steamed rice too). I make big batches and individually saran-wrap them. Perfect on the go snack. Regular steamed rice works fine. No need to soak for four hours. Just wash it and cook it like you would normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
On our 7th trip to the Hawaiian Islands, we finally tried Spam Musubi! It is "ono"! I have to say I only used this recipe as a guideline. I made a few changes. I marinaded the spam in teriyaki, and cut nori into 1 1/2 inch strips. I also bought a musubi mold, which I got in Maui, but you can buy them online. Dip mold in water before molding each musubi, it will make removal much easier. Also lay a piece of plastic wrap on flat surface, lay nori on top, center mold and fill with rice then spam and then rice again, press. Remove mold, wrap seaweed around rice and wrap in plastic. I gave my sister two musubi's to take home...one for her and for her husband...she ate both! Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I never knew I'd like spam wrapped in rice and seaweed so much. Great flavor, and a wonderful snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States