Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Hubby and I had SPAM musubi everyday when we were in Hawaii. I couldn't figure out what's the "secret sauce" that made it so good. When I tried out this recipe, I was surprised that the "secret sauce" is a combination of something so commonly found in a Chinese kitchen. A few suggestions - 1. use low sodium SPAM and soy sauce. You can enjoy it even more without drinking tones of water afterward. 2. cook SPAM in low heat and watch carefully. With the sauces and sugar, it burns really fast. 3. If you aren't use to wrap sushi and molding cooked rice, scoop the rice into a piece of plastic wrap and press to form the rice. This will give you a nice a firm rice cake without the mess. 4. Adding a little bit of sesome seeds to the rice if you like. Love this recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I thought these were delicious. They were a little bit of work to put together though! I didn't have a rice press, but I heard that by cutting the other end off the spam can, you can use THIS as a rice press. So I did. Stuffed the rice in the bottom, pressed with a spoon, then laid the spam piece on top of it and packed it on some more. After that, wrapped with my sushi nori and these little goodies were ready to go! The sauce was delicious on it, very sweet and gave the spam extra flavor. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Deeee... LISH! Adding the oyster sauce made a huge difference because it thickens the marinade and makes the sauce stick when frying. I did tweak the recipe a tad. I used less oyster sauce - probably 1/8 of a cup and used lower salt soy sauce. Didn't soak the rice, just made it normally with the rice cooker. I added half the amount of rice vinegar but really you don't need to. My musubi maker was very helpful - get one at your local asian goods store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Aloha! I moved from Hawaii and I missed eating the spam musubi in Pearl Highlands(Food Court), so i searched online and here it is the perfect recipe!!!! Yum! Mahalo to the person who posted the recipe. I always thought it was just rice and spam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
After going to Hawaii for the first time a few years ago, my fiance and I fell in love with spam musubi. I'm so glad that I found this recipe. BUT, I really don't like oyster sauce (I did a test batch of 2 spam slices marinated as directed in this recipe, and didn't like the way it came out) and after doing a bit more research for other musubi recipes online, I decided to substitute the oyster sauce with mirin (Japanese sweet cooking wine that you can find at any Asian grocery store/market). YUMMY YUM YUM!!! It was perfect, just like in Hawaii! My fiance couldn't get enough! (And neither could I!) TIPS: You don't have to use sushi rice, regular rice is just fine. When you cook the marinated spam slices, be sure to do it at a low heat, as the sugar in the marinade really does make the spam burn very easily. When I assembled my musubi, I kept a small bowl of water next to me to continually wet my fingers and the musubi maker (as well as using it to seal the seaweed strips). Speaking of the seaweed, before you cut it into strips, be sure to "toast" it - simply take each sheet and quickly make three-four passes over your stove burner and it will toast fine (don't let it linger over the burner or have the burner set too high or it will burn). I'll definitely keep this recipe as one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Sawyer Adamson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Soooo good! Thanks so much, didn't realize the "secret" ingredient, the oyster sauce. Gives it that savory something that you can't put your finger on! Oh, and of course CRISPY spam is the absolute only way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
WAY too much marinade, you only use 1/5 of it and have to throw the rest away. Rice & water ratio depends on the rice you bought--follow the package instructions rather than blindly following the 1 to 1 ratio here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
growing up in hawaii, i ate spam musubi all the time. i've always made it with a sugar and soy sauce marinade but when i saw this recipe with oyster sauce, i thought i'd give it a try. i made two kinds to see if i could taste the difference and the one with the oyster sauce is the way to go. it really adds that extra something that makes a great spam musubi. i was shocked because i didn't think it would make that much of a difference, but it did. note that using non toasted nori can be really chewy and therefore can be difficult to eat. i use korean seaweed instead, which is usually toasted and seasoned with sesame oil and salt. you can get it at a korean market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
YUM!! I havent had these in over 7 years since my last visit to Hawaii when I ate them every day. I'm so excited I can make them myself now and they are so good!!! I followed the recipe very closely with the exception of one minor addition. I added equal parts of sugar and rice vinegar to my rice. My family is already requesting the next batch. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Good dish. Very "Sushi" tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ratayczak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States