Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
LOVE IT! It doesn't have quite the same taste as the spam musubis in Hawaii, but it still tastes great. Like the reviews below said, use low-sodium spam or even low-sodium shoyu to cut down on the salt content. I poured all the marinade in with the spam to cook so there'd be some extra sauce in with the musubi. Just be careful not to burn it because of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
So tasty and so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Loved the recipe, but also took into consideration the recommedations made by others. I used my spam can for the mold but I didn't need to cut it because it slides out if you give it a little tap. Also added rice seasoning and it was delicious!! Everyone I make this for loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Good recipe. I skip the step with the rice vinegar, just plain rice is fine. Frying your spam, then marinating and then frying again gets rid of a lot of the fat as well. Low sodium spam works best. I've also had some people prefer is as a sandwich - rice, seaweed, spam, rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Sooooo Good!!! You can also substitute spam w/ Portugese Sausage or Lup Cheong Sausage. Either way, it's Ono-li-cious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Unlike most reviewers here, I did NOT grow up eating this. (I grew up in Detroit, and never even had spam until this recipe.) When I first opened the can of spam, I have to admit, I was doubtful I could get over the ick-factor of it all. But I kept an open mind, followed all the directions (except I used brown rice instead of white, and I marinated overnight instead of for 5 minutes), and WOW! was I surprised. This is honestly the most tasty thing I can imagine spam turning into. I would definitely make this again. This would be especially good if you have young kids who like to help in the kitchen. They can help with the assembly. They'll have fun hand-molding the rice "loaves" and wrapping the nori ribbons around the little bundles. I sliced the spam into 15 slices, and that was perfect for the amount of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
it was good because it tasted like spam. Marinating spam in the mixture of soy sauce and oyster sauce just makes spam saltier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeegie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
a local favorite here in Hawaii. Only thing is I don't use oyster sauce and it's not necessary to soak rice for 4 hours. I love adding furukaki on the rice too. If you don't like spam, try substituting bbq chicken or even salmon. When putting salmon, I would suggest putting it in the middle of the rice instead of laying on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for dinner mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This is so good and fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Hubby and I had SPAM musubi everyday when we were in Hawaii. I couldn't figure out what's the "secret sauce" that made it so good. When I tried out this recipe, I was surprised that the "secret sauce" is a combination of something so commonly found in a Chinese kitchen. A few suggestions - 1. use low sodium SPAM and soy sauce. You can enjoy it even more without drinking tones of water afterward. 2. cook SPAM in low heat and watch carefully. With the sauces and sugar, it burns really fast. 3. If you aren't use to wrap sushi and molding cooked rice, scoop the rice into a piece of plastic wrap and press to form the rice. This will give you a nice a firm rice cake without the mess. 4. Adding a little bit of sesome seeds to the rice if you like. Love this recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States