Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I make this ALL the time. I usually change it to 40 servings because everyone loves it and it goes fast! I marinate the spam for several hours rather than just 5 minutes. When I increase the servings, I decrease the rice vinegar some, otherwise it's too strong. The sugar can also be easily decreased if you like (oyster sauce is already sweet). I also add Furikake rice reasoning to the rice. I wrap each spam musubi in plastic wrap (after it's cooled). If you put it in the fridge, the rice can get hard. I leave it out for a max of 2 days & its still good, but it's usually gone long before that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawi, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This is very good and authentic. I cut down the ratio of soy sauce, oyster sauce, and sugar because you only use a tiny portion of that, and the rest goes to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
It was alright, but a bit too sweet for my taste. I usually use splenda and a bit of mirin instead to cut down on sugar. On a side note, MUSUBI is not SUSHI. Sushi actually means "vinegared rice". Musubi is also called Onigiri in Japan depending on the region.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purdie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
A Samoan friend made some for a get-together but didn't leave the recipe. My son and his friends asked me to make some for them and so I found this recipe. It is just as good if not better than the musubi she made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
had issues with my rice so ended up frying the spam and adding the rice. I had to make the next day because everyone I was camping with wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QUADCHICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Been in Kona enough to know that this is as close to the real thing as it gets, awesome thanks for the share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Pretty good! My husband is from Hawaii and so my family loves spam musubi. I am a haoli, so I had to learn how to make it. :-) This one was pretty good. I was all out of oyster sauce, so I used shoyu & sugar, but I am sure the oyster sauce would have added some great flavor. We didn't like the amount of rice vinegar... I'll have to play with that one. All in all, it was good & we enjoyed it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
i saw the recipe and made changes. i'm pregnant so my tastebuds are pretty extreme. I wanted less salty, more sweet, less sour and more of a fishy taste. I bought SPAM Light, slices were cut thinner, i carmelized the spam in the oven in its marinade, 4 spoons of vinegar in rice instead of 6, and my musubis are fully covered in seaweed (choking hazard so take small bites). I love it and will do this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Misha
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
So good! I loved the carmelizing on the Spam. I wrapped each musubi in its own piece of foil, and it made snacks for days! Great tips by other cooks--Use Spam can as a mold (wet it between making each one), and cook Spam on Low! Thanks for this recipe! xoxo =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I love this recipe, as did my husband, 6 year old and my bookgroup (save for the people who do not like spam). I've used it as an appetiser and as a main meal (with seaweed salad as a side, mmmm!), and it was great for lunch the next day. The only changes I made were to use the rice preparation recipe on the sushi rice I got rather than the one that comes with the Spam Musubi recipe. Also note, my end result did not look nearly as pretty as the picture due to my troubles with the sticky rice, but I bet it tasted just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States