Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
spam and rice you cannot go wrong, cheap an easy classic.. reminds me of Hawaii every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kason

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Murphys, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My son fell in love with this when visiting Hawaii. Great for kids to participate in the kitchen. Bad for those on low sodium diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I lived in Hawaii for many years and your recipe is spot on except for one thing. I have no idea why you'd soak your rice at all, much less for 4 hours. I put the rice into the rice cooker... add water and push the button. Perfect rice in less than 30 minutes. A fun way to shape the rice so it fits the spam slices just right, is to pat the rice out on a sheet of parchment paper to the thickness you want. Then use the spam can like a cookie cutter to cut the rice. (Works best if you cut off both the top and bottom of the can)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was really good and the kids loved it. It makes a great lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Is this supposed to use seasoned rice vinegar? I didn't like it with just rice vinegar. Much better after I added seasoned rice vinegar to it. I had a horrible time with my sushi molds. One was just ridiculously large and the other was too small. So I ended up having to cut the spam to fit. It came out more appetizer size, which end the end was better. This is only a four for me when using the seasoned rice vinegar. After reading the reviews about too much marinade I cut the amount in half and it was perfect. My kids liked this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This was an amazing recipe. I plan on substituting the spam with other meat sources and see howit turns out. My partner and I ate 5 musubi's each and still wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
It was very good. Better than the Hawaiian fast food up the street. I cut the vinegar in half because I was afraid of what the hubby would think. I was still able to taste it fine. I put ckicken instead of spam to try something different. I already know what spam musubi is like. Thanks, we all loved the formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Nice little kick with the oyster sauce. You can also try experimenting with other meats. i.e. Teriyaki grilled chicken, kalua pork, Teri/miso salmon, boneless Korean bbq beef. Ono!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made these & took them to a get together with friends. Immediately our host perked up and was like "Is this Musubi?!?!?!" and started chowing down on them. Afterwards he asked me if I had steamed it, and then let me know that many Hawaiian natives steam them to tighten the seaweed. Will do next time, but he sat there all night telling stories about when he lived in Hawaii. Must have been close & it tasted pretty awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I grew up eating Spam and Spam Musubi. I always make Spam Musubi using a "basic sauce", Spam and nori. I cook rice first then set it aside to cool a bit while I assemble other ingredients. I bring Aloha soy sauce and brown sugar to a medium boil in a saucepan until sugar dissolves. I just eyeball the amount of soy sauce and brown sugar, to taste, never measuring. I omitted the oyster sauce (never used it). I don't fry the spam in vegetable oil. I just cut up the spam in thick slices and add it to the saucepan. I also roast the nori right before putting everything together. Using a musubi maker I place the nori inside, add rice and press it into the mold, add a slice of cooked spam, another layer of rice on top and press the top musubi maker onto everything together tightly. I then remove the mold and use a sharp knife to cut the musubi in half. Sometimes I make this for breakfast or lunch. While I do have "my own" way of making Spam Musubi sauce (without oyster sauce), others may find adding a little more seasoning to theirs, such as this recipe, more suitable. Thou Spam Musubi is easy to make, it is a filling and tasty snack. Some people add nori furikake and other ingredients to the Spam Musubi to jazz it up. You will find Spam Musubi anywhere here in Hawaii, even at the 7-Eleven stores. This can be served as an appetizer, part of an okazuya and a snack on-the-go! Very popular and Onolicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States