Spam Musubi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I've never tried true Hawaiian musubi so I wasn't sure what to expect. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly and flavor was good but a tad too salty. Will use low sodium soy sauce in the future. Molding the rice without a musubi maker was disastrous for me, so I ended up slicing the cooked spam into strips and rolling it in the rice covered nori on a sushi rolling mat. Fun change of pace but not something I would crave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I live part time in Hawaii with my dad and growing up there I love love love the food! I eat all kinds of local food. This is my all time favorite! My dad buys it for me all the time from the Minit Stop down the road. The recipe is delicious except when I make it I don't use the oyster sauce or the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Tried this tonight and really liked it! Had it with some maki. A bit salty so it's important to get the rice to spam ratio right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was suprisingly tasty! We made it for a luau and it was gobbled up immediately. Give yourself some time to put it together, it is well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
It was good, but I prefer my mom's marinade without the oyster sauce (I was born and raised in Hawaii and I guess I am used to her version).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
spam and rice you cannot go wrong, cheap an easy classic.. reminds me of Hawaii every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kason Hancock

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Murphys, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My son fell in love with this when visiting Hawaii. Great for kids to participate in the kitchen. Bad for those on low sodium diets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I lived in Hawaii for many years and your recipe is spot on except for one thing. I have no idea why you'd soak your rice at all, much less for 4 hours. I put the rice into the rice cooker... add water and push the button. Perfect rice in less than 30 minutes. A fun way to shape the rice so it fits the spam slices just right, is to pat the rice out on a sheet of parchment paper to the thickness you want. Then use the spam can like a cookie cutter to cut the rice. (Works best if you cut off both the top and bottom of the can)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was really good and the kids loved it. It makes a great lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

SPAM® Musubi

Marinated and cooked slices of SPAM® on top of seasoned rice, wrapped in nori.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States