Spaghetti with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Really yummy and super easy! Love the flavor of cumin and hot sauce together, they do add a special "kick" to spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Thank you! My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. It does make a lot though, so I put the leftovers in hot, sterilized jars and put them in the oven at 275 for 20 minutes with lose fitting lids. once out of the oven you can tighten the lids (carefully). Once the lid seals you've got extra canned sauce for future use. It works really well, and you'll get to enjoy this yummy sauce again, and again without the added effort of making it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
We tried this for the first time tonight because I wanted something meatless for a change. My wife rated it 9 out of 10. I thought it could use more flavor. One problem was the recipe calls for 16 oz jar of spaghetti sauce and all I had were 24 oz jars. So I adjusted the cumin and hot sauce accordingly. But it still came out more subdued than I like it. So next time I'll increase both cumin and hot sauce even more. And I'll probably throw in a pinch of cayenne as well. Colorful appearance was great; texture was great. It was just the mild flavor that brought it down for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This went over pretty good. I personally liked it and would make it again, however, I would add some type of meat. This is what everyone missed :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
simple easy way to spice up plain ole sauce. Turned out pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I didn't use hot sauce. It was delicious! I will definitely make this again. It is worth it because it takes plain old spagetti and sauce and it makes a full meal out of it. Otherwise I would need to add another dish or something to help fill me up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great change from regular spagetti. My five year old loved it. We topped it with shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Four stars because I made some slight changes (below) but even our meat-lover gave this recipe two-thumbs up! I used only 1/2 Tsp cumin and it was just enough "kick" flavor for us and no hot pepper sauce. I would recommend NO Parmesan cheese; with traditional sauce it is wonderful, but with this "Southwest" flavor, the Parmesan cheese did not blend so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
i think it going to be good im going to tried it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
While I love the flavor of beans and corn, and the cumin was a great touch, this recipe was not a hit in our house. My husband (ever the eater) did not finish his plate at dinner that night or for leftovers at lunch the next day. My sister also said she would eat it but would not make it, request it, or really even be happy about it being cooked. My opinion, the balance between pasta and veggies is good. This way you can each more than you should without feeling too bad since it is about half veggies. But there is something that is just not right about the flavor. Oh yeah, it is really filling...which is good. Good to try once....but not to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States