Spaghetti with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Really yummy and super easy! Love the flavor of cumin and hot sauce together, they do add a special "kick" to spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Gurnee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
While I love the flavor of beans and corn, and the cumin was a great touch, this recipe was not a hit in our house. My husband (ever the eater) did not finish his plate at dinner that night or for leftovers at lunch the next day. My sister also said she would eat it but would not make it, request it, or really even be happy about it being cooked. My opinion, the balance between pasta and veggies is good. This way you can each more than you should without feeling too bad since it is about half veggies. But there is something that is just not right about the flavor. Oh yeah, it is really filling...which is good. Good to try once....but not to repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
simple easy way to spice up plain ole sauce. Turned out pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Thank you! My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. It does make a lot though, so I put the leftovers in hot, sterilized jars and put them in the oven at 275 for 20 minutes with lose fitting lids. once out of the oven you can tighten the lids (carefully). Once the lid seals you've got extra canned sauce for future use. It works really well, and you'll get to enjoy this yummy sauce again, and again without the added effort of making it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I didn't use hot sauce. It was delicious! I will definitely make this again. It is worth it because it takes plain old spagetti and sauce and it makes a full meal out of it. Otherwise I would need to add another dish or something to help fill me up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great change from regular spagetti. My five year old loved it. We topped it with shredded cheddar and mozzarella cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This went over pretty good. I personally liked it and would make it again, however, I would add some type of meat. This is what everyone missed :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
this tasted unappealing to both me and my husband, I got my daughter to try one bite (the rules in the house) but she wouldn't eat anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Four stars because I made some slight changes (below) but even our meat-lover gave this recipe two-thumbs up! I used only 1/2 Tsp cumin and it was just enough "kick" flavor for us and no hot pepper sauce. I would recommend NO Parmesan cheese; with traditional sauce it is wonderful, but with this "Southwest" flavor, the Parmesan cheese did not blend so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
i think it going to be good im going to tried it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States