Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Wow - this was good! I took some of the other reviews suggestions and did the following: cut the oil in half - used 1/4 cup of white wine instead, lightens the oily taste, minced 5 cloves of garlic. Slipped in a few LIGHT shakes of red pepper flakes - be careful - this added A LOT of flavor. I combined all ingredients except the clams and allowed to them to come to a boil. I prepared the sauce in a large deep saucepan. Added the clams 2/3 minutes before the Spaghetti is al dente. Drain pasta and transferred it all to the sauce, cooked it altogether for 2 minutes and removed. Don't let the clams cook too long, they will come out rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was delicious. Although, I have to admit to changing the recipe after reading almost all of the reviews, and looking at a few other recipes. The compilated recipe follows: 1/4 c. butter, 2 T. flour, 5-6 large garlic cloves minced, 1 T. dried parsley, 1/4 tsp. dried oregano, 1/4 tsp. dried basil, 1/4 tsp. black pepper, red pepper flakes-optional-to taste-pinch, 1/4 c. olive oil, 1/4 c. white wine, 2(6.5 oz) cans minced clams in juice, 1/4 c. whipping cream, 1 lb. linguine, Romano or Parm. for sprinkling on top. Melt butter in deep saute pan. Add flour and spices, combine well. Add olive oil, wine, and juice from clams. Simmer over low heat until well combined and reduced a bit. Cook noodles. Right before adding cooked noodles to sauce add the minced clam meat and whipping cream to sauce--this keeps clams from getting rubbery. Toss well to coat. Serve with grated cheese. Made for anniversary dinner. Easy, impressive looking, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
My family loves linguine with white clam sauce. This proved to be a simple yet delicious recipe. Can't wait to make again. Spice it up with 1/2 tsp of hot pepper flakes. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
This recipe went over big at my house. My husband has instructed me never to buy canned clam sauce again. He made me make twice this week! I substituted one can of whole baby clams for one of the cans of minced clams...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Tasted pretty good, but made some minor changes. Increased the butter to 1/4 cup, used 3 cans of clams, added 1/4 tsp thyme, and added 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Not being a huge marinara fan, I nearly always choose white clam sauce for my pasta. So, I've tried lots of different ones. I was very disappointed with this particular recipe. (Sorry!) I thought it used WAY too much olive oil. (1/2 cup!) The sauce was very thin and watery, even though I later tried to doctor it up by adding a slosh of heavy cream. The flavor of the sauce was pretty good. But it was much too thin and watery and oily for my taste. Not a fan of this recipe, wanted something more rich and creamy. Just my personal preference. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
We are major clam lovers. I used a 10 oz can of whole clams plus a 6.5 oz can minced and will double it, at least, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Easy and tasty. I found that my family likes it better with an extra can of clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barb57
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Excellent recipe. I added more garlic and used fresh parsley with one can of minced clams and one can of whole clams. My husband said it was better than any restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Loved it. Made changes as per other reviews - only 1/4 C EVOO, 3 TB butter, 1 TB minced garlic (I LOVE garlic!), no garlic powder, only had one can of clams, and 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper. Also added a splash of heavy cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States