Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
this was surprisingly fantastic. i say this because the inside of a can of clams isn't that appealing. when i told my husband what i was making he said, 'i don't think i like that.' well, he gobbled it right up, along with my 21-month-old. i couldn't believe it. i only used 1/2 a pound of spaghetti, so i cut the oil down to 1/8 cup, 2 TBSP butter, 4 cloves of garlic, 1 15 oz can of chopped clams, and about half the juice, along w/half of the spices. awesome. next time, i'll include some bread to sop up all the juicy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlucz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Yum! Followed directions from Sept 2008 review. I added a little less than 1/4 cup olive oil and very little butter. Added fresh parsley, basil and chopped fresh shrimp and chopped fresh clams so they wouldn't get "rubbery". I like that it's a little creamy when you add flour and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe was wonderful. I added more garlic and cut down on the olive oil. Next time I will cut down even more on the oil but other than that it was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was delicious. Although, I have to admit to changing the recipe after reading almost all of the reviews, and looking at a few other recipes. The compilated recipe follows: 1/4 c. butter, 2 T. flour, 5-6 large garlic cloves minced, 1 T. dried parsley, 1/4 tsp. dried oregano, 1/4 tsp. dried basil, 1/4 tsp. black pepper, red pepper flakes-optional-to taste-pinch, 1/4 c. olive oil, 1/4 c. white wine, 2(6.5 oz) cans minced clams in juice, 1/4 c. whipping cream, 1 lb. linguine, Romano or Parm. for sprinkling on top. Melt butter in deep saute pan. Add flour and spices, combine well. Add olive oil, wine, and juice from clams. Simmer over low heat until well combined and reduced a bit. Cook noodles. Right before adding cooked noodles to sauce add the minced clam meat and whipping cream to sauce--this keeps clams from getting rubbery. Toss well to coat. Serve with grated cheese. Made for anniversary dinner. Easy, impressive looking, wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was very good! My boyfriend loved it and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Thorne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Very disappointed. I followed this recipe to the "T" and was very excited... but it did not turn white or anything near that color. it was watery/soupy and clear. i'm not sure what i could've done differently to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
We love this recipe! My girls love to use Fresh Clams (we live in WA State) and they "have" to add cooked, diced bacon to the top and eat it with grilled French Bread. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armydiverdude52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I tried it the 'tweaked' way. 1/4cup oil, 1/4 butter, 1/4 wine. I added both cans minced clams with juices. It was amazing with some parmigiana sprinkled on top. It looked and smelled fancy, but was simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio Grande, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States