Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
cut olive oil to 1/3 cup and cut spaghetti in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This recipe is pretty good and I am not the best cook so that ought to tell you something. I am glad that I read the other reviews and took some of their suggestions such as: cut the evoo to 1/4 cup use 1/4 cup white wine double the butter add red pepper flakes And I addeed fresh lime juice, I think lemon or lime works really I was really impressed and it tasted better than the clam sauces from my local italian restaurants. Oh and I used Corn Starch to thicken the sauce instead of cream...I think clam sauce should be translucent, not white like alfred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
i used only fresh garlic, 5 cloves, and fresh basil and fresh parsley, and added a little white wine, a dash of lemon juice, and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, and used 3 cans of clams, with some of the liquid. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great recipe! Used 3 cans of minced clams and not the full pd. of spaghetti. Like to have more meat in a pasta dish. Very tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Used one pound fresh chopped clams. Added a pinch of red pepper flakes and 1/4 cup white wine. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Recipe is very tasty; I made some changes/additions. Cut down oil to 1/3 cup ( using half roasted garlic infused oil and half olive oil), used two cans minced clams with all of it's juice, plus 1 can (14 oz.) artichoke bottoms, which I drained and diced), added 1 small chopped shallot, 1/2 tsp. crused red pepper, a little more of the parsley, oregano and basil, salt, put in a splash of white wine and a splash of lemon juice. Make sure you whisk all the ingredients thoroughly before ladling on top of preferred pasta. Deliciious! My husband said he would not order pasta with white clam sauce at a restaurant, but if he knew it would taste like this did, he definitely would--he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Fine recipe as-is if you are one of those folks that like this style of clam sauce; I prefer a much thicker sauce, so I simmered it for some time with a bit of white wine and all of the clam juice and reduced the sauce to nearly to a marinara consistency. Tasted excellent at this point, then I decided to great creative and added the clams, PLUS 1/2 tsp. or so of bittersweet Spanish paprika (avail. Amazon) which turned it into a red sauce (!) AND pushed the flavor WAAAY over the top. Served over linguine, and sauce was thick enough that none of it dripped through to hit the plate. Will need to do this a lot more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
that's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garden queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Made this recipe as is , I used 3 cans of Cento white clam sauce !!!!! It was Delishhhhhhhhh this is a keeper !!! The only thing I added was a 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes .... This will be my forever recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
delicious! made with whole wheat linguini, one can of clams (used most of the juice), and supplemented the other can of clams with chopped mushrooms and half of a white onion. definitely agree on adding the crushed red pepper. didn't have any basil on hand and was still great. also, put water in it to make more dipping sauce and stretch it further. my boyfriend finished two helpings before i'd even finished my first. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States