Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. One of my favorites and now my wife and my kids love it, too. PERSONAL NOTES: I do not add the butter or margarine because it makes the sauce a little too oily for our tastes. I prefer to use all of the sauce from the clams and I even add some clam juice and a little white wine. Fino Sherry is great for this. I simmer the sauce until it turns almost creamy. I'm not a big fan of onions (actually, my stomach doesn't like them - I love the taste!) so I reduce that amount. And of course my kids are not fond of black pepper so I cut that out. But the basic recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Rivell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Excellent! My family loved it and it was very easy to make! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Breton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I did rdonuhue suggestions and it came out great, the family likes it. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clamsauce
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Very good!!! Added less olive oil and added more clam juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
It is as good as in many restaurants! Added extra garlic. I like garlic. Could have added a little more clams. With garlic bread and salad a feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Used this for a cooking lesson with my teenaged son last night. We didn't have basil so I used thyme. Used 1/3 c olive oil and all the can juices. Oh, and I always add extra garlic--3 cloves in this dish. Loved, loved, loved it. Great recipe. I think others have thought the sauce too thin because they didn't allow the sauce to reduce and thicken over heat. Try that next time--simmer 10 to 15 minutes. Yum. And I simply added the clam in the last 3 or 4 minutes of cooking so they wouldn't get rubbery, as suggested. Thanks for this really quick and easy, yet decadent, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I also lessened the amount of oil to 1/4 cup. When it came time to add the clams and juice, I just added juice and let the liquids reduce to a sauce-like consistency by simmering. Then I added the clams to cook for 3-4 minutes before I added pasta. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have to shake my head at those who review this recipe and comment over and over that it is too greasy or oily....hello? This is white clam sauce - it is butter, oil and garlic - it is supposed to be that way! Throwing a lot of cream in, etc., now you are moving towards a heavy alfredo and that is not what I would ever expect. Make this recipe AS IS, with a splash of wine. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
cut olive oil to 1/3 cup and cut spaghetti in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This recipe is pretty good and I am not the best cook so that ought to tell you something. I am glad that I read the other reviews and took some of their suggestions such as: cut the evoo to 1/4 cup use 1/4 cup white wine double the butter add red pepper flakes And I addeed fresh lime juice, I think lemon or lime works really I was really impressed and it tasted better than the clam sauces from my local italian restaurants. Oh and I used Corn Starch to thicken the sauce instead of cream...I think clam sauce should be translucent, not white like alfred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States