Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I did rdonuhue suggestions and it came out great, the family likes it. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by clamsauce
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Very good!!! Added less olive oil and added more clam juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
It is as good as in many restaurants! Added extra garlic. I like garlic. Could have added a little more clams. With garlic bread and salad a feast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Used this for a cooking lesson with my teenaged son last night. We didn't have basil so I used thyme. Used 1/3 c olive oil and all the can juices. Oh, and I always add extra garlic--3 cloves in this dish. Loved, loved, loved it. Great recipe. I think others have thought the sauce too thin because they didn't allow the sauce to reduce and thicken over heat. Try that next time--simmer 10 to 15 minutes. Yum. And I simply added the clam in the last 3 or 4 minutes of cooking so they wouldn't get rubbery, as suggested. Thanks for this really quick and easy, yet decadent, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I also lessened the amount of oil to 1/4 cup. When it came time to add the clams and juice, I just added juice and let the liquids reduce to a sauce-like consistency by simmering. Then I added the clams to cook for 3-4 minutes before I added pasta. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have to shake my head at those who review this recipe and comment over and over that it is too greasy or oily....hello? This is white clam sauce - it is butter, oil and garlic - it is supposed to be that way! Throwing a lot of cream in, etc., now you are moving towards a heavy alfredo and that is not what I would ever expect. Make this recipe AS IS, with a splash of wine. It's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
cut olive oil to 1/3 cup and cut spaghetti in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This recipe is pretty good and I am not the best cook so that ought to tell you something. I am glad that I read the other reviews and took some of their suggestions such as: cut the evoo to 1/4 cup use 1/4 cup white wine double the butter add red pepper flakes And I addeed fresh lime juice, I think lemon or lime works really I was really impressed and it tasted better than the clam sauces from my local italian restaurants. Oh and I used Corn Starch to thicken the sauce instead of cream...I think clam sauce should be translucent, not white like alfred sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
i used only fresh garlic, 5 cloves, and fresh basil and fresh parsley, and added a little white wine, a dash of lemon juice, and a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, and used 3 cans of clams, with some of the liquid. Very Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great recipe! Used 3 cans of minced clams and not the full pd. of spaghetti. Like to have more meat in a pasta dish. Very tasty! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States