Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was pretty good! Per other reviews, I cut the olive oil down to 1/4 cup, and upped the butter to 1/4 cup. I also used 2 10 oz. cans of baby clams. I used all the juice from the first can, but drained the second. We had leftovers, so I poured the remaining clam juice over the leftovers, since I knew the pasta would dry out a bit. Because I doubled the clams, the spices were a bit bland, and I ended up adding seafood spice to taste. This is still a pretty bland recipe, but not too greasy (the way I made it). I think I would double the amount of fresh garlic next time. Also, I don't have dried parsley, and I didn't have fresh, so I used some fresh basil (about 1/4 cup chopped) from the garden, which gave it a really nice subtle basil flavor. My husband liked it, which is saying something because he only likes pasta with marinara sauce! I will definitely make this again, and thanks for the heads up that this can be greasy with the 1/2 cup oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was very good, I liked it better than ready made because it is less oily. I served it with parmesan topped garlic bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2chayse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I thought it could have used some more flavor but i think the basic recipe is sound
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe, but a little to greasy. I think I might try a little less olive oil and a little more clam juice the next time around. Excellent recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Easy and really good. Everyone really enjoyed this recipe and I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barb57
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Excellent recipe. I added more garlic and used fresh parsley with one can of minced clams and one can of whole clams. My husband said it was better than any restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I love clam sauce, but this was to oily.I recommend more butter and the clam juice should be added. Spices were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Tasted pretty good, but made some minor changes. Increased the butter to 1/4 cup, used 3 cans of clams, added 1/4 tsp thyme, and added 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Super simple and the rest of the family loved it! (I hate clams) They decided this is a do-again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I don't have anything to compare this to. I really didn't feel healthy eating this. Lots of oil and didn't have as much flavor as I thought it would. I guess I am the minority. Kids decided they don't like clams either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States