Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
a fantastic recipe! i make this for my neice, who's the pickiest eater on the planet. this is literally one of only about a handful of things she'll eat a lot of. it comes out perfect every time. works well with other pastas, as well, such as linguine or fettuccine. whatever you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle B
Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I added the extra cans of clams as suggested and had way too many clams for both my boyfriend and I. Neither of us were really interested in the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Wow - this was good! I took some of the other reviews suggestions and did the following: cut the oil in half - used 1/4 cup of white wine instead, lightens the oily taste, minced 5 cloves of garlic. Slipped in a few LIGHT shakes of red pepper flakes - be careful - this added A LOT of flavor. I combined all ingredients except the clams and allowed to them to come to a boil. I prepared the sauce in a large deep saucepan. Added the clams 2/3 minutes before the Spaghetti is al dente. Drain pasta and transferred it all to the sauce, cooked it altogether for 2 minutes and removed. Don't let the clams cook too long, they will come out rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was pretty good! Per other reviews, I cut the olive oil down to 1/4 cup, and upped the butter to 1/4 cup. I also used 2 10 oz. cans of baby clams. I used all the juice from the first can, but drained the second. We had leftovers, so I poured the remaining clam juice over the leftovers, since I knew the pasta would dry out a bit. Because I doubled the clams, the spices were a bit bland, and I ended up adding seafood spice to taste. This is still a pretty bland recipe, but not too greasy (the way I made it). I think I would double the amount of fresh garlic next time. Also, I don't have dried parsley, and I didn't have fresh, so I used some fresh basil (about 1/4 cup chopped) from the garden, which gave it a really nice subtle basil flavor. My husband liked it, which is saying something because he only likes pasta with marinara sauce! I will definitely make this again, and thanks for the heads up that this can be greasy with the 1/2 cup oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was very good, I liked it better than ready made because it is less oily. I served it with parmesan topped garlic bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2chayse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I thought it could have used some more flavor but i think the basic recipe is sound
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is a wonderful recipe, but a little to greasy. I think I might try a little less olive oil and a little more clam juice the next time around. Excellent recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Easy and really good. Everyone really enjoyed this recipe and I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barb57
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Excellent recipe. I added more garlic and used fresh parsley with one can of minced clams and one can of whole clams. My husband said it was better than any restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I love clam sauce, but this was to oily.I recommend more butter and the clam juice should be added. Spices were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States