Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was very good! My boyfriend loved it and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Thorne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Very disappointed. I followed this recipe to the "T" and was very excited... but it did not turn white or anything near that color. it was watery/soupy and clear. i'm not sure what i could've done differently to fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
We love this recipe! My girls love to use Fresh Clams (we live in WA State) and they "have" to add cooked, diced bacon to the top and eat it with grilled French Bread. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armydiverdude52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I tried it the 'tweaked' way. 1/4cup oil, 1/4 butter, 1/4 wine. I added both cans minced clams with juices. It was amazing with some parmigiana sprinkled on top. It looked and smelled fancy, but was simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio Grande, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
a fantastic recipe! i make this for my neice, who's the pickiest eater on the planet. this is literally one of only about a handful of things she'll eat a lot of. it comes out perfect every time. works well with other pastas, as well, such as linguine or fettuccine. whatever you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle B
Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I added the extra cans of clams as suggested and had way too many clams for both my boyfriend and I. Neither of us were really interested in the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Wow - this was good! I took some of the other reviews suggestions and did the following: cut the oil in half - used 1/4 cup of white wine instead, lightens the oily taste, minced 5 cloves of garlic. Slipped in a few LIGHT shakes of red pepper flakes - be careful - this added A LOT of flavor. I combined all ingredients except the clams and allowed to them to come to a boil. I prepared the sauce in a large deep saucepan. Added the clams 2/3 minutes before the Spaghetti is al dente. Drain pasta and transferred it all to the sauce, cooked it altogether for 2 minutes and removed. Don't let the clams cook too long, they will come out rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was pretty good! Per other reviews, I cut the olive oil down to 1/4 cup, and upped the butter to 1/4 cup. I also used 2 10 oz. cans of baby clams. I used all the juice from the first can, but drained the second. We had leftovers, so I poured the remaining clam juice over the leftovers, since I knew the pasta would dry out a bit. Because I doubled the clams, the spices were a bit bland, and I ended up adding seafood spice to taste. This is still a pretty bland recipe, but not too greasy (the way I made it). I think I would double the amount of fresh garlic next time. Also, I don't have dried parsley, and I didn't have fresh, so I used some fresh basil (about 1/4 cup chopped) from the garden, which gave it a really nice subtle basil flavor. My husband liked it, which is saying something because he only likes pasta with marinara sauce! I will definitely make this again, and thanks for the heads up that this can be greasy with the 1/2 cup oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was very good, I liked it better than ready made because it is less oily. I served it with parmesan topped garlic bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2chayse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I thought it could have used some more flavor but i think the basic recipe is sound
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States