Spaghetti with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is really good. No more canned clam sauce for me! I tried some of the other reviewers suggestions, used 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/4 cup of white wine. Also, cut down on the butter. Made this twice last week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
One of my family's favorite and so easy to make. I cut back on the olive oil and add more fresh garlic. Other than this, I follow the recipe pretty much exact. It's so easy to make that I make this when I am stuck with nothing for dinner - these ingredients are easy to have on hand for an emergency meal. I have all picky eaters and they all love this - we have it at least twice per month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Not being a huge marinara fan, I nearly always choose white clam sauce for my pasta. So, I've tried lots of different ones. I was very disappointed with this particular recipe. (Sorry!) I thought it used WAY too much olive oil. (1/2 cup!) The sauce was very thin and watery, even though I later tried to doctor it up by adding a slosh of heavy cream. The flavor of the sauce was pretty good. But it was much too thin and watery and oily for my taste. Not a fan of this recipe, wanted something more rich and creamy. Just my personal preference. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail White

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Loved it. Made changes as per other reviews - only 1/4 C EVOO, 3 TB butter, 1 TB minced garlic (I LOVE garlic!), no garlic powder, only had one can of clams, and 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper. Also added a splash of heavy cream. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is incredible! I had always been afraid to make white clam sauce, despite my love for clams, but this made it easy. Thank you Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I have been using this recipe for quite awhile and I forgot to review it. This makes an excellent sauce! I think the measurements are spot on...the only thing I modify is the fresh garlic. I double the garlic, because we love garlic. I love the combo of the olive oil + butter. This is the only recipe I will use from now on! Thanks for sharing, Angchick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marymeow!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
It was good but I made quite a few suggested changes, and feel like it still has to be tweaked more. I'd rather find a recipe that didn't need so many changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I just made this and it was amzing - with minor modifications. I substituded white wine for half of the olive oil and I added 4 T. of flour when I added the spices. Then I waited until right before I tossed the pasta and sauce to add the clams along with 2/3 c. of cream to the sauce. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe but the next time I make it I will definitely use much less oil and more garlic. It also works well with prawns instead of clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States