Spaghetti with Garlic and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This recipe was great! I did alter it a bit though. I added more garlic than the recipie called for and I sauted half of and and left the rest fresh. I also added a half a tablespoon of fresh lime juice and it gave it just the kick it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsNeubauer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was very good, very fresh tasting. All that basil gave this a crisp taste, as in bright and fresh. I only used half the basil called for and it was plenty. I did warm the olive oil/butter and the garlic before adding it to the pasta. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
instead of just the butter olive oil sauce i sweat some onions and upped the garlic a bit added some chicken broth reduced and mounted with butter making a sauce along with dried basil and red pepper flake tossed the spaghetti added black olives and tomato at the end so as to just heat the tomato barely and instead of parm i used mozz the whole fam enjoyed even my 2 yr old nephew liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metalchef324

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was such a good, quick, light sauce recipe (used linguine instead). However, I added Portuguese pre-cooked spicy sausage & heated it in the oil/butter for 2-3 mins. I sauteed the minced garlic at the end of browning the sausage, to get lightly golden in the oil/butter before adding the hot pasta to the pan. Followed other reviewers, with adding a little more Parm cheese & red pepper flakes to taste. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Simple, clean and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarethEvans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leicester, Leicestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Mmmmm! Was great! At first it was a little lack luster but then I add some more cheese, I'd say about a 1/4 a cup more, halved grape tomatoes, sliced grilled chicken, (depending on the length) quartered, just warmed (on the grill) asparagus, and that was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiemonster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I just finished this and sat down to a plate of it with a little salad and frankly couldn't finish without reviewing it. This is one of the best dishes I have prepared and I will definitely be keeping this recipe on hand. I am a single person and it makes enough for me to keep on hand for a few days. The flavor is fabulous and it was quick, easy, and cheap. I added a bit of red pepper flackes while I was melting the butter and also threw everything else in and let it simmer to really release the flavor and then tossed it all together, it came out quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
basic but bland. i added more garlic and crused red pepper flakes for more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The basil was overpowering and was virtually the only flavor we could taste. We won't do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoneSideways

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
very good. almost didn't put the butter in to make it healthier but threw it in at the last moment. simple and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLBRICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic and Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States