Spaghetti with Garlic and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
easy to make and very adaptable. For a main dish I added some sautéed ham chunks along with the garlic and basil and fresh ground pepper. This is on my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Delish! Great with ground dried chilli pepper flakes as seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
all you can taste in it is the basil I would not recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
It was good, used angel hair and a little extra butter and italian seasoning since I didnt have fresh basil and it hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was really really good! I followed some other reviewers and made a couple of changes, but the simplicity and ease of this dish can't be beat! First, I sauteed some seasoned chicken breasts in olive oil and set them aside. Then I used the natural juices and leftover olive oil in the pan to lightly saute garlic, basil (don't skimp, it's a perfect amount), red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Then I added a little white wine, put hot noodles in the pan sprinkled with parmesan, and stirred well to coat every noodle. Excellent, easy, and I've already made it twice! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Excellent and very simple. It goes really well with Chicken Marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was heaven and became a 5-star dish with the addition of fresh chopped roma tomatoes. I did saute the garlic in a small amount of olive oil to mellow the flavor, and then tossed the basil in for about 15-30 seconds, just until it wilted and released its unbelievably wonderful aroma. The entire family enjoyed this, even my uber-picky 7-year-old daughter. I served the pasta on a plate as a "bed" for chicken breast seared in garlic lemon butter, and my husband said it looked like something they would make on Food Network. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Good recipe, simple and quick. It makes me think to another traditional Italian dish, Spaghetti with fresh herbs and Pecorino, because the ingredients are almost the same: parsley, chives, garlic, EVOO, basil, sage, but with the addition of mint, marjoram and Pecorino cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This was really really good and pretty easy and fast too. Lemon pepper all the way!! I did as the first reviewer suggested: I sauteed oil, butter, garlic, and lemon pepper but I sauteed for too long the first time and the garlic and lemon pepper turned into a brown crunchy substance, so I set that aside and sauteed again, this time for only a few min (5 max). If you sautee too long you loose the flavor. Then I mixed the basil and pasta and parmasean, and poured the butter-garlic like a sauce. The first brown crunchy batch I poured on bread and toasted and it made a nice compliment to the pasta. Also used fettuccinni instead of spaghetti. You can use any pasta. All in all great recipe, will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monie83

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
my youngest son liked this a lot because he doesn't like a tomato sauce with his spaghetti. my other guys found it a bit lacking. i liked the taste, but we felt it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deetergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic and Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States