Spaghetti with Garlic and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Very easy and tasty! To make it a bit healthier I used organic wheat fettucine, took out the butter entirely and also tossed in a chopped tomato from my garden. Delicious, cheap, easy and low-cal; you can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This tastes super nummy and it was sooo easy! I sauteed the oil, butter, garlic, and spices while the pasta cooked. I used lemon pepper instead of black pepper and added a few crushed red pepper flakes. I also tossed the Parm cheese in with the hot noodles at the end so it would melt. It was delicious... my picky fiance even liked it, and that's saying something!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is a tasty dish, as long as you use it as a side-dish...I think eating this alone may be boring. I used it for a side to chicken parmigiana when we had some guests over for dinner. I didn't have unsalted butter, only had salted butter on hand. Also didn't have fresh basil, I used the dry basil I had on hand. In a small pan, I heated sliced garlic in olive oil over very low heat and added the rest (except parmesan)...only added parmesan when mixing with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
VERY GOOD!!! I sauteed the olive oil, butter, basil and garlic in a large pan on low heat while the pasta cooked. Then added the pasta and tossed with the parm - sooooo yummy! I added leftover mixed grilled veggies. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Absolutely wonderful!! So light yet tasty. Added a dusting of parmesan and a few red pepper flakes. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Very Good....very simple yet tasty serve with crusty bread and a salad and you have yourself a meal..I also skimmed down the butter and olive oil just so it was a bit more figure friendly for me. Be sure to use fresh garlic and basil as well as the cheese to ensure great flavor and freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
Rather than use this recipe as is (sans sauce), I decided to use it to put pizazz in my usual spaghetti dinner. It is remarkable! The combination of butter, oil, garlic and basil in the pasta combined with our regular jar sauce makes it so mouth-watering delicious! We won't eat our spaghetti any other way now. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
A classic dish. But it needs to be paired with something green and some more protein to be a well-rounded meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Really quick and yummy! I used angel hair pasta and served Bruschetta with it...season generously and the parmesan is a MUST otherwise would be a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Very tasty side dish. For just a couple basic ingredients, it's great! Comes together nice and quickly too. I used some italian seasoning, just for convience. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic and Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States