Spaghetti with Garlic and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
After a 3 hour panty raid last night, my friends Taylor and Ellen (who claims she is a nurse, but is really a bartender at the local Hooters) called me up at 3:00 in the morning and asked me to "whip" something up for them to munch on while watching The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood or something like that. Of course I ran to allrecipes and found this recipe. I made this with penne and since the market was closed in the middle of the night, I didn't have access to fresh basil, so I used dried. We had this with the left over flat beer from Hooters and after the two imbecile's passed out on my futon, I let the air out of their tires. That'll teach them to wake me up for spaghetti!! Enjoyed this very much, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This tastes super nummy and it was sooo easy! I sauteed the oil, butter, garlic, and spices while the pasta cooked. I used lemon pepper instead of black pepper and added a few crushed red pepper flakes. I also tossed the Parm cheese in with the hot noodles at the end so it would melt. It was delicious... my picky fiance even liked it, and that's saying something!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hugo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This recipe had great potential but I kinda messed it up. First of all, people... if you dont know (like I didnt)... fresh basil means FRESH BASIL!!! I used dried basil and it was way too much. I doctored it up by doubling the garlic and parmesean. I added two whole chicken breasts and that saved it. It turned out okay despite too much dried basil. I will make this again with fresh basil in the future! Peace and blessings, people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I love this stuff so much... another recipe I eat on a weekly basis. I prefer to saute my garlic briefly in the EVOO first, add just a a pinch of red pepper flakes, add no salt (but use salted butter) and I do prefer to use Locatelli or Pecorino Romano instead of Parmesan, as the flavor is a tad sharper and just lends itself perfectly to this particular combination. Thanks for the post, Marilyn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Fabulous! I love pasta and this was perfect for a quick meal! I used a combination of parmesan and romano cheeses and it was delicious with Italian grilled chicken. To make the meal complete we added some garlic bread and a nice garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Excellent. Didn't, wouldn't, change a thing. Dried basil just wouldn't cut it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is a tasty dish, as long as you use it as a side-dish...I think eating this alone may be boring. I used it for a side to chicken parmigiana when we had some guests over for dinner. I didn't have unsalted butter, only had salted butter on hand. Also didn't have fresh basil, I used the dry basil I had on hand. In a small pan, I heated sliced garlic in olive oil over very low heat and added the rest (except parmesan)...only added parmesan when mixing with the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
Very easy and tasty! To make it a bit healthier I used organic wheat fettucine, took out the butter entirely and also tossed in a chopped tomato from my garden. Delicious, cheap, easy and low-cal; you can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
VERY GOOD!!! I sauteed the olive oil, butter, basil and garlic in a large pan on low heat while the pasta cooked. Then added the pasta and tossed with the parm - sooooo yummy! I added leftover mixed grilled veggies. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was heaven and became a 5-star dish with the addition of fresh chopped roma tomatoes. I did saute the garlic in a small amount of olive oil to mellow the flavor, and then tossed the basil in for about 15-30 seconds, just until it wilted and released its unbelievably wonderful aroma. The entire family enjoyed this, even my uber-picky 7-year-old daughter. I served the pasta on a plate as a "bed" for chicken breast seared in garlic lemon butter, and my husband said it looked like something they would make on Food Network. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Spaghetti with Garlic and Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States