Spaghetti with Garlic and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I absolutely LOVED this and so did all my family members. Even my Mom, who doesn't usually like too much garlic, really enjoyed it. I wasn't able to get fresh basil as we are in the middle of snow storm, but 1 1/2 tsp. of dried basil seemed to work just fine. Note: Sautéing the garlic and dried basil in the butter and olive oil really seemed to bring out the flavors. I completely melted the butter on very low heat and then I turned it up to medium. Once it started slightly boiling, I mixed in the dried basil, finely chopped garlic, and the 1/4 cup of olive oil. (I wasn't sure if the olive oil would keep butter from melting or boiling so that's why I added it after the butter was hot enough to sauté.) I stirred it occasionally until the garlic was a golden brown and turned it off. (Garlic almost burned so be sure to watch the browning closely. It bubbled up, but if you blow the bubbles down and turn the heat down a little you can see.) After the noodles where cooked, I drained them and poured them into a large bowl. I did not have enough parmesan, so I mixed what I did have with a little bit of shredded mozzarella and cheddar. NOTE: I recommend tossing the pasta in the basil garlic sauce BEFORE adding the cheese. The cheese melted so fast that it became difficult to thoroughly coat all the pasta in the sauce. I added a little shake of salt and a couple shakes of pepper but my family liked theirs just fine without, so it is definitely up to each individual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Loved it! I had to use dry basil and shredded Parmesan from a bag due to my tight budget. I eyeballed all the herbs and spices and added 1/2 lb ground turkey. I had to double the amount of butter when I did this because the added meat dried out the dish. It was great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Tasty as is, but sauteed the garlic in the olive oil (and added a few more cloves) with around 1/3 cup cup of chopped walnuts- Yum! Definitely needs fresh basil to be best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Yum! fast and easy. I picked basil from my garden and had this meal put together in unde 20 minutes. I'm sure it would also be good with some chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Not a huge fan of the raw garlic - would be 5-stars if instructed to saute...even for a few minutes. Other than that, this is awesome for a quick*simple*fast pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Fabulous! I love pasta and this was perfect for a quick meal! I used a combination of parmesan and romano cheeses and it was delicious with Italian grilled chicken. To make the meal complete we added some garlic bread and a nice garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Excellent. Didn't, wouldn't, change a thing. Dried basil just wouldn't cut it here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
OMG good!!!!! Se easy and a true 5 stars!!!!! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I tossed with cheese & potatoe pierogies and greenbeans all together in one bowl. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
Very good! Didn't have fresh basil on hand so i used dry basil instead. I am living in italy right now and was looking for a plate similar to one my husband ordered in the restaurant in Florence... This tasted almost like it! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barilla® Thin Spaghetti with Garlic & Red Pepper

A super-simple spaghetti with garlic, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States