Spaghetti with Buffalo and Tomato and Basil Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is very quick and easy. I substituted ground beef and added a little chopped onion which turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
A simple and flavorful dish. I could not find the full amount of buffalo that it calls for so I did half and half ground beef. It was tasty but I still think I prefer my old sauce with the more ingredients with more flavor and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
We liked this recipe. It is something we would be interested in eating again. However, it's not amazing and I just don't understand why Barilla needs so many additions to their sauces to make it a tasty dish. Why does a sauce with basil in the name need a recipe asking for more basil? I chose a red wine that pairs with buffalo and wasn't impressed with the outcome. It's good but just another spaghetti recipe in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Nice taste, but a tad on the sweet side for me. I used Wild Boar - couldn't find buffalo and had boar in freezer. Quick meal and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Cliff G
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I used ground beef as Buffalo is not in my area. It was easy to make and a meal you can put together fairly quick. I thought it tasted good! Thanks for the recipe Barrila.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great recipe for those nights you are pressed for time. I didn't know of anywhere I could purchase buffalo meat in my area so I took advantage of the lean venison I had in my freezer. I read the other reviews beforehand and chose to use only 8 oz. of pasta and that was perfect. I did end up using extra herbs that I had on hand and adding mushrooms but the true highlight of the dish was the red wine that added so much depth to the jarred sauce. Try adding the wine the next time you make spaghetti and I dare say you won't have it any other way from then on out. Thanks for the great recipe Barilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I used hamburger because I couldn't easily find buffalo today, but I do know how delicious ground buffalo is! I wanted to keep adding things to this recipe---more flavoring. I used onions and a little red bell pepper, and the pasta I used (delicious, by the way) was the gluten-free spaghetti. Talk about an easy way to make dinner! Thanks so much, Barilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I thought this was tasty, but I honestly had to tweak it some to taste. It is essentially the basics for a quick weeknight spaghetti. I went to 4 stores and could not find buffalo. I opted for a grass fed beef, assuming it would be the closest. I used Jones Creek brand it may have been the freshest ground beef I have ever tasted. I did have to drain it some, though, not normally having to do that with just regular lean beef I usually use. I heated about a pinch of pepper flakes in approximately 2 tsp of oil and added a large chopped garlic clove, browned the meat, then added the rest. I used marinara sauce, my personal preference, and added a pinch of basil, garlic powder, a little salt, and some fresh parsley. For the wine I used cabernet sauvignon. I found that I could only utilize about half the noodles suggested. I would try that much and see how it works. I had additionally added 1/3 cup of water to the sauce too. Remember it will soak up more of the liquid as it cools also. I tasted it and felt like it needed something else besides ground beef and tomatoes. I ended up adding some drained, chopped, and well rinsed garlic marinated mushrooms. That addition worked perfect for me. Made as above, I got about 4 large servings. It was fine for 2 of us. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Simple, yet flavorful - perfect when you don't have a ton of time to cook but still want a substantial meal. I opted not to tell my husband it was buffalo LOL. You could easily sub lean ground beef if necessary. I browned the meat with a little chopped onion and garlic along with the red pepper flakes and threw in a 14.5 oz. can of seasoned diced tomatoes along with the wine and sauce. I did let it simmer longer than called for to let all the flavors blend together. Overall very good served with a fresh garden salad, warm garlic bread, and of course a nice glass of wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This made a tasty, quick weeknight meal. We liked the addition of the red wine to the jarred sauce. I love ground buffalo and it was great in this pasta dish. The only complaint I have is that it was a little off on the pasta to sauce ratio for me. I would have liked a little more sauce, or a little less pasta, but that may be just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States