Spaghetti with Broccoli and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
My family modifies the recipe by preparing the spaghetti, the broccoli, and saute'ing the mushrooms in the butter with the salt and pepper. This way we can heat and combine at our convience and the dish is even easier to prepare for those extra hectic days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is a good recipe for a fast meal. I used fresh vegetables in this recipe: (broccoli, mushrooms & garlic). I added 1 chopped onion and 7 chopped roma tomatoes. I sauteed the onion, garlic and mushrooms for about 5 - 7 minutes. I then added the broccoli and sauteed for an additional 5 to 7 minutes. Finally, I added the sliced tomatoes and half a cup of water and sprinkled on some Italian seasoning. I brought the mixture to a boil, reduced the heat, covered the dish and simmered everything for about 10 minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This ended up being a pretty good meal. I had started by following the recipe perfectly, but then didn't like the taste results. Very bland. There just didn't seem to be enough seasoning so I needed to add quite a bit more. I also used half spinach and half broccoli, with the spinach adding a bit more taste. I did as others mentioned and put in the parmesean cheese last, which created a creamy mixture. All my vegetables were fresh except for the broccoli. I'd suggest this recipe to anyone who doesn't mind swaying from the recipe in order to make a really tasty dish. My boyfriend loved it, especially with the extra garlic powder I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a great combination of flavors. I did have to make some adjustments due to using fresh ingredients. I chopped fresh broccoli, mushrooms, and garlic and sauteed those in a combination of butter and olive oil. I added the cheese and other ingredients, but this still needed liquid to pull it together. I threw in some chicken broth, but white wine or vegetable broth would work (to keep it vegetarian - I was serving chicken with it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This needs tweaking! Use FRESH shrooms, (canned are so disgusting) fresh basil & garlic, and FRESH broccoli!!!! Too much black pepper, add 1/2-1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes instead. I like more lemon, too and increased the amount of juice to my liking and microplaned a bit of zest in there, as well. If you use salted butter, you may not need an entire TB of salt. A splash of half & half was a great addition, too. Next time will add chicken or shrimp for the meat lovers in my family. I give it 1 star as written, but a 4 with the tweaks. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Faboulous- With these adaptions: Use fresh garlic and fresh basil instead of dried, and add 5 fresh chopped tomatoes. In terms of cooking, mix in the parmesan when serving rather than cooking it with the vegetables. Fantastic, thanks for my yummy lunch x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I rated this 5 and my husband rated it 3 - so I decided to compromise on 4. I thought it was delicious, easy to prepare (even with fresh vegetables - we just simmered it a little longer) and quick. I used fresh broccoli, mushrooms and two tomatoes, chopped up. I waited and added the cheese right at the end. He thought it was just okay - nothing really special. I disagree. :) Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellent. I replaced spaghetti with fettucini. I did use fresh broccoli and mushrooms, and sauted with some homemade vegetable stock I happened to have on hand. I made as a side dish serving with Easy Mozzarella Chicken by SARAHBEA. I threw both together when we had unexpected company.. so simple to throw together and impressive on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holmes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I just got done having this for dinner tonight. I followed the recipe, except I used fresh broccoli, mushrooms, garlic, and basil. It was very good, the only thing keeping it from being a Five Star was the salt. I don't typically use salt and I thought 1 tablespoon seemed like a lot so I cut it in half -- this still tasted extremely salty to us. On the plus side, the dish was so good that I will make it again with no salt. Excellent vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THATISSO8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Yummy! I added more cheese (smoked gouda) and used FRESH veggies and it was wonderful! Makes a lot and I would definitely make this again : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYDEEBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States