Spaghetti with Broccoli and Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Very good! Used fresh ingredients as most everyone else did, and added chicken. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Just okay. The sauce is quite grainy if you use the parmesan in the can. I made it with fresh broccoli, mushrooms and garlic like many of the other reviewers. It doesn't really make a "sauce" -- it's just tons of butter and grainy parmesan. You can make a luscious alfredo sauce with no more work and next time I'll do that like usual, since the butter and parmesan in this is so much that it's crazy fattening. I don't mind making an occasional super high calorie and high fat meal, but then I prefer it be so good your eyes roll back in your head. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I loved the idea of the recipe, but used all fresh ingredients instead of frozen, canned, or dried. Also sprinkled the parmesan after cooking and used olive oil instead of butter, with a little sauteed onions thrown in, and salt and pepper to taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Excellent. I replaced spaghetti with fettucini. I did use fresh broccoli and mushrooms, and sauted with some homemade vegetable stock I happened to have on hand. I made as a side dish serving with Easy Mozzarella Chicken by SARAHBEA. I threw both together when we had unexpected company.. so simple to throw together and impressive on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holmes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This needs tweaking! Use FRESH shrooms, (canned are so disgusting) fresh basil & garlic, and FRESH broccoli!!!! Too much black pepper, add 1/2-1 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes instead. I like more lemon, too and increased the amount of juice to my liking and microplaned a bit of zest in there, as well. If you use salted butter, you may not need an entire TB of salt. A splash of half & half was a great addition, too. Next time will add chicken or shrimp for the meat lovers in my family. I give it 1 star as written, but a 4 with the tweaks. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Very good! I used fresh brocolli and mushrooms and added a tiny bit of pasta water in for a little more moistness. I did use linguini too cause thats what I had. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is a good recipe for a fast meal. I used fresh vegetables in this recipe: (broccoli, mushrooms & garlic). I added 1 chopped onion and 7 chopped roma tomatoes. I sauteed the onion, garlic and mushrooms for about 5 - 7 minutes. I then added the broccoli and sauteed for an additional 5 to 7 minutes. Finally, I added the sliced tomatoes and half a cup of water and sprinkled on some Italian seasoning. I brought the mixture to a boil, reduced the heat, covered the dish and simmered everything for about 10 minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a great combination of flavors. I did have to make some adjustments due to using fresh ingredients. I chopped fresh broccoli, mushrooms, and garlic and sauteed those in a combination of butter and olive oil. I added the cheese and other ingredients, but this still needed liquid to pull it together. I threw in some chicken broth, but white wine or vegetable broth would work (to keep it vegetarian - I was serving chicken with it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Faboulous- With these adaptions: Use fresh garlic and fresh basil instead of dried, and add 5 fresh chopped tomatoes. In terms of cooking, mix in the parmesan when serving rather than cooking it with the vegetables. Fantastic, thanks for my yummy lunch x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Tweaked it a little bit -- as follows: put broccoli in steamer over pasta while it was cooking - less pots to clean up. Added a few ingredients; onion powder, basil paste (available in produce section) 1/4 cup of white wine, also used sea salt (half of what the recipe called for. My husband raved - such a simple dish to prepare - so much taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States