Spaghetti with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I couldn't believe it when I saw this in my email this afternoon! My grandmother made this (well very close to it) when we were kids. We called NBC - Noodles Bacon and Cottage Cheese. Obviously, the missing element on this recipe is the cottage cheese. My grandmother would mix breadcrumbs with the bacon (and some of the grease) - we called those sprinkles. I didn't know anyone else on the planet ate anything even close to NBC. I loved it, my kids love it, me and my wife will have it once in a while. Thanks for stirring up a fond memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I would advise people to cook pasta according to the direstions on the box/wrapper. 12 minute spaghetti would be msh to the bite, meethinks. I would certainly cook the bacon separately and use a very smount of the grease for flavor, if that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaptain Kook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I've tried this twice now, first as written and then again with additions. The second time I added onion, fresh basil. red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese. I also reduced the olive oil slightly. Just a suggestion, this recipe is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Actually you do not need oil. Put the cut bacon in the pan and stir until crispy. Then put garlic and/or onions. The oil from the bacon shall be sufficient. Try putting chopped fresh basil leaves too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this several weeks ago, and it didn't turn out as good as I had hoped. It was edible but not amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frances Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
very good, so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thelittlebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Very quick & easy. After reading other comments about being too greasy, I drained some of the grease before mixing with the pasta. Also only had dried parsley to use but still turned out very good. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This wasn't too bad, but a little bland. I might make it again, and spice it up some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made a tad healthier version. I used whole wheat spaghetti, added 2 large leaves of fresh basil chopped, used pre-cooked bacon (so there wasn't as much grease) and added 1 13.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes. The family went wild!! Definitely will become a regular at our house. Oh and parmesan makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanAtch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
i added peas and parm cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States