Spaghetti with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Loved it...Fixed this for some company we had last night...took a few other suggestions and added about half a can of diced tomatoes as well as a cup of the boiling water from the noodles and let that cook with the bacon and garlic. Was hoping to dilute the greasiness that others were talking about. That did the trick or I just used a lot more pasta, not sure which, but i served in individual pasta bowls with some fresh Parmesan on top, then a little sprinkle of parsley followed by some grated Parmesan cheese. It was a hit and wasn't too greasy...I do agree that a little more seasoning may need to be added to taste but other than that, I'll be holding on to this recipe for future uses
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chimod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
As is, this was pretty bland, but it's a great base for a great dish. I eat turkey bacon, so used that and it was fine. To jazz it up, I also added basil, and shrimp. Next time I might try some clams with the juice to kick up the I notch on flavor...or add in some cherry tomatoes and grated Parmesan cheese, or even some fresh spinach. But as the recipe is in itself, I'll give 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is spaghetti carbonara without the eggs and shredded parmesan cheese. I would cook the bacon separately, not in olive oil. Some combination of Italian seasonings wouldn't hurt either. Quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I haven't made this in years! Thank you for the reminder. Spaghetti, garlic & olive oil, with whatever else one wants to add, whatever variations. The three-ingredient base is the essence of comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was a delicious recipe!! I made it my own with lots of different veggies, made it with turkey bacon and whole wheat pasta. Made the bacon separately, sautéed the veggies together, tossed the bacon, veggies and pasta all together with lemon olive oil. I bought Italian Focaccia, drizzled Italian Olive Oil over it and used it to dip in the Italian Olive oil and Balsamic Vinegar. Will definitely be making this again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was a great easy meal. We added Parmesan. Next time I think I'll use extra virgin olive oil for flavor with tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I add red chili pepper flakes when I fry the bacon. It's a good simple BASIC recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is a perfect side dish for chicken or pork chops. I read other reviews that said it was kind of bland, so I sprinkled it with powdered ranch dressing mix, and that was the trick it needed! Great recipe for quick, easy and cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is absolutely one of my favorites, there's a million things you can do with this dish and still keep it simple and tasty. I enjoy sun dried tomatoes chopped and mixed in with the garlic and parsley. Then a good glass of red wine and you are in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I couldn't believe it when I saw this in my email this afternoon! My grandmother made this (well very close to it) when we were kids. We called NBC - Noodles Bacon and Cottage Cheese. Obviously, the missing element on this recipe is the cottage cheese. My grandmother would mix breadcrumbs with the bacon (and some of the grease) - we called those sprinkles. I didn't know anyone else on the planet ate anything even close to NBC. I loved it, my kids love it, me and my wife will have it once in a while. Thanks for stirring up a fond memory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States