Spaghetti With Red Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My husband and I thought this sauce was fantastic! The only substitution I made was splenda for sugar, and I added some mushrooms. I made the sauce in the crock pot (about 4 hours on high) then just before serving threw in the clams w/juice and cooked wheat rotini pasta. It was great! I'll be making this again using meatballs or sausage. A very easy and tasty sauce base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
i was craving a delicate clam sauce so this is how i changed it-fried up some bacon and onions,then added only 1 can of diced tomatoes, a little white wine. for the spices i used 4 cloves minced garlic, 2 tsp dried parsley, 1/2 tsp ital seasoning, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper, 1/4 tsp black pepper, no salt. the juice from the clams are salty enough. this was so good! if you want a heartier sauce definately follow the recipe as written. i do think that next time i will use 2 cans diced toms.thanks for giving me a base to work around. i couldnt find any other red clam sauce recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
A very delicious and low-fat pasta dish! Instead of canned tomatoes and tomato sauce, I used 2 cups of chopped fresh tomatoes. I omitted the capers, sugar, and garlic powder and cut down the salt to 1/4 teaspoon. I sauteed the onion and garlic with cooking spray for a couple of minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. After the sauce is cooked, I added some fresh snipped chives. I will definitely make this pasta dish again because it is so healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
yes it was quick and easy and i thought yummy...decided to make this for my new year's eve supper...glad i did...i had all the ingreds in my pantry...only thing i did different was add more garlic (luv it) had it over rigatoni and it was great!...thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: May 29, 2004
My husband is the cook in the family. He made this clam sauce and it was delicious! The only different thing he did was to triple the amount of clams (we like a lot of clams). Tastes just like the sauce at one of our favorite restaurants. And, since the owners of that restaurant have recently retired, we can still enjoy the sauce, only at home. Thanks, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Very, very good! I used Italian style crushed tomatoes and still added all the spices too. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Excellent recipe. I followed it exactly except that I put all the ingredients into my crock pot and let it sit on low all day. They aroma was great, the flavor, outstanding. I used the two small cans of minced clams and added a tall can of whole clams. I also added about 1/2 of port wine... served over linguini. I've made this many, many times since, on the stove and enjoyed it every time. Thanks Angela. To Laura B., a recipe is a guide, not a scientific formula. Tweak away and have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Really good base. I loved it. I used fresh basil, more garlic, different tomatoes, but that's just tweaking a solid recipe to my personal taste--very nice. I took some out before I added clams, as my wife isn't a clam-girl, and it made a nice base tomato sauce too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is a Great Recipe! Both my husband and I really loved it! I only used 1 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and I used 4 cans of clams. (only added the juice from 2 cans) We doubled the clams to make it heartier! This recipe is surely a Keeper! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amyroman
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this red clam sauce for part of our Christmas Eve dinner, and it is a great recipe! I made a couple changes- I used two 14.5oz cans of diced tomatoes with juice instead of one can crushed and one diced tomatoes. I also added a 12oz can of whole baby clams, since I wanted it to be heavy on the clams. I also added a bit more garlic and capers than the recipe called for because I like those flavors. All in all, this is a great recipe and I can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States