Spaghetti With Red Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
A very delicious and low-fat pasta dish! Instead of canned tomatoes and tomato sauce, I used 2 cups of chopped fresh tomatoes. I omitted the capers, sugar, and garlic powder and cut down the salt to 1/4 teaspoon. I sauteed the onion and garlic with cooking spray for a couple of minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. After the sauce is cooked, I added some fresh snipped chives. I will definitely make this pasta dish again because it is so healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Excellent recipe. I followed it exactly except that I put all the ingredients into my crock pot and let it sit on low all day. They aroma was great, the flavor, outstanding. I used the two small cans of minced clams and added a tall can of whole clams. I also added about 1/2 of port wine... served over linguini. I've made this many, many times since, on the stove and enjoyed it every time. Thanks Angela. To Laura B., a recipe is a guide, not a scientific formula. Tweak away and have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
Pleasant and mild flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
My family and I have been enjoying Angela's white clam sauce for a long time, so I decided it was time to try the red. I found it too salty, first of all. The canned tomatoes are salty enough. It was also to thick and pasty for clam sauce. I think it is hearty enough for meatballs or sausage. I find it interesting that the recipe got such high marks when the reviewers didn't even follow the recipe. Next time, I will add olive oil, and omit the tomato sauce. I will also add the clam juice during cooking, but reserve the clams until ready to serve...this way the acid in the tomato sauce won't have time to make the clams tough. I think with a little tweaking, this will be a better dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
My husband is the cook in the family. He made this clam sauce and it was delicious! The only different thing he did was to triple the amount of clams (we like a lot of clams). Tastes just like the sauce at one of our favorite restaurants. And, since the owners of that restaurant have recently retired, we can still enjoy the sauce, only at home. Thanks, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Very, very good! I used Italian style crushed tomatoes and still added all the spices too. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe was O.K., but I will definitely alter it next time. I like my red clam sauce slightly spicier, more clammy (is that a word?)and less runny. I think that I will add more crushed red pepper, perhaps some hot sauce, all of the clam juice, and half of the tomato sauce. Good base recipe though-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Really good base. I loved it. I used fresh basil, more garlic, different tomatoes, but that's just tweaking a solid recipe to my personal taste--very nice. I took some out before I added clams, as my wife isn't a clam-girl, and it made a nice base tomato sauce too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My husband and I thought this sauce was fantastic! The only substitution I made was splenda for sugar, and I added some mushrooms. I made the sauce in the crock pot (about 4 hours on high) then just before serving threw in the clams w/juice and cooked wheat rotini pasta. It was great! I'll be making this again using meatballs or sausage. A very easy and tasty sauce base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was pretty good! I drained one of the cans of clams just because I didn't want it to "fishy". It came out great! My kids loved it even, but I had to tell them the clams were little pieces of chicken so they'd eat it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hockeymom214

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States