Spaghetti With Red Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
yes it was quick and easy and i thought yummy...decided to make this for my new year's eve supper...glad i did...i had all the ingreds in my pantry...only thing i did different was add more garlic (luv it) had it over rigatoni and it was great!...thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made the recipe as written, except I added the clam juice to the sauce and simmered it longer - about 90 minutes - before adding the clams. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I substituted the can of crushed tomatoes for 1 jar of prepared spaghetti sauce and the can of diced tomatoes for a can of stewed Italian tomatoes. I also omitted the oregano and crushed red pepper flakes for personal preference. Outside of these modifications, I made the recipes as written and the sauce was fabulous. I read from other reviewers that the sauce was runny, so I simmered the clam juice with the sauce for 30 minutes and then add the clams for the last 5 minutes. The recipe made enough sauce for 2 pounds of spaghetti. I considered freezing the ½ of the sauce for later use, but unexpected visitors came for lunch and I was happy to be able to feed everyone and there were no leftovers! This recipe is a keeper. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ying

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was pretty good! I drained one of the cans of clams just because I didn't want it to "fishy". It came out great! My kids loved it even, but I had to tell them the clams were little pieces of chicken so they'd eat it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hockeymom214

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My husband and I thought this sauce was fantastic! The only substitution I made was splenda for sugar, and I added some mushrooms. I made the sauce in the crock pot (about 4 hours on high) then just before serving threw in the clams w/juice and cooked wheat rotini pasta. It was great! I'll be making this again using meatballs or sausage. A very easy and tasty sauce base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Really good base. I loved it. I used fresh basil, more garlic, different tomatoes, but that's just tweaking a solid recipe to my personal taste--very nice. I took some out before I added clams, as my wife isn't a clam-girl, and it made a nice base tomato sauce too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This recipe was O.K., but I will definitely alter it next time. I like my red clam sauce slightly spicier, more clammy (is that a word?)and less runny. I think that I will add more crushed red pepper, perhaps some hot sauce, all of the clam juice, and half of the tomato sauce. Good base recipe though-Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Very, very good! I used Italian style crushed tomatoes and still added all the spices too. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
My husband is the cook in the family. He made this clam sauce and it was delicious! The only different thing he did was to triple the amount of clams (we like a lot of clams). Tastes just like the sauce at one of our favorite restaurants. And, since the owners of that restaurant have recently retired, we can still enjoy the sauce, only at home. Thanks, Angela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
My family and I have been enjoying Angela's white clam sauce for a long time, so I decided it was time to try the red. I found it too salty, first of all. The canned tomatoes are salty enough. It was also to thick and pasty for clam sauce. I think it is hearty enough for meatballs or sausage. I find it interesting that the recipe got such high marks when the reviewers didn't even follow the recipe. Next time, I will add olive oil, and omit the tomato sauce. I will also add the clam juice during cooking, but reserve the clams until ready to serve...this way the acid in the tomato sauce won't have time to make the clams tough. I think with a little tweaking, this will be a better dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Buffalo Tomato Sauce

See how to make a simple spaghetti and meat sauce starring ground buffalo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States