Spaghetti With Red Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My question is does anyone use fresh clams in these recipe's? Or is everyone so jaded that they don't cook with fresh ingredient's or is it that it easier to use canned? Personally I prefer to cook with fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phill Tarnowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracey Wright
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I made it tonight and followed the recipe completely, except for one thing. I added a little dry red wine.My friend gives it 4.1/2 stars. He says he'd add a little more garlic, but other than that it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very good recipe, and a decent recipe for a quick red pasta sauce (just omit the clams and clam nectar, and substitute with meatballs or sausage), or serve vegan by itself. I omit the tomato sauce. There is plenty of tomato with just the crushed and diced tomatoes. And I add 1/2 cup of an Italian red wine, 1 to 2 tbs of onion powder, and then triple the clams. You can add water to thin the sauce to your taste, or a small can of tomato paste to thicken it. It's a great family style Friday lenten dinner. Used minced clams and your kids won't even know they're eating clams. I use chopped for me and grownups who like the chewiness of clams. Or use a ton of fresh shucked clams if you want to make it premium. Then you can throw in a few clam shells for presentation. Also, use any pasta you want. I like fettuccine. Penne would work, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Awesome!! GS had canned clams on sale this week... bought them with absolutely no idea what I was going to do with them. Came across this recipe and was pleasantly surprised with the twist that it allowed me to put on my "lazy day quick and easy spaghetti dinner" :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I think this is a good recipe to build upon. I agree with some other reviews that it's runny but that's easily solved with some toasty garlic bread. Next time I'll double the capers and spices. I used two 10 oz. cans of whole baby clams, partially drained. It goes well over whole wheat pasta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Very quick, very easy and very good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nichols, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I used about half the amount of clams suggested. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Added 1/2 cup leftover red wine, 10 oz can whole baby clams and 1 tsp red pepper flakes, otherwise followed recipe as is. Excellent flavor! The addition of capers and red wine got it very close to restaurant quality. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW! I have always wanted to try to make something like this so I decided to make this for my husband for Valentines Day. It turned out amazing!! I was very proud of this dish :) I added half of a fresh tomato to this recipe and it was very very good!! I will be making this dish again :) thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by futurevet2727

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great! I added red wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States