Spaghetti With Peanut Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Nice flavor, to make it a more harty meal I topped it with Tyson ready grilled chicken breast strips, diced roma tomtaoes, sliced green onoin, chopped honey roasted peanuts and used about 1/2 bunch of chopped cilanto (we love it). I also used penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
Sometimes Different is good! This was not a big hit with my kids...but the hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I followed suggestions made by LitleLisa1 and DREGINEK and the results pleasantly surprised me. I used: 1/2 cup hot chicken broth instead of water, dark soy sauce, about a tsp of Cayenne pepper instead of chili sauce (and a few pinches of red pepper flakes), a few dashes of Thai Fish Sauce, a tiny dash of Dashi-no-moto, a dash of cinnamon, 1 tbsp. lemon juice (I consider this ingredient necessary), and had no cilantro though will use it next time. Also I used a mini food processor to roughly chop the peanuts for garnish. I had heavy cream on hand but next time I will definitely use either half&half or milk as the heavy cream was very heavy. And with regular peanut butter the sauce definitely has enough fat! ALSO I Pan-fried/sauteed Haddock loins in some peanut oil and a little of the peanut sauce, and then added some fresh broccoli florets and chopped carrot and let them simmer but it's crucial the veggies stay a little crunchy to offset the soft texture of the noodles and sauce. I used the 8.8oz package of Eden Udon noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Not bad. I made two similar peanut butter pasta dishes this morning and I liked the other one better. My husband said he wanted peanuts or something crunchy to be added so next time I will do chunky peanut butter instead of creamy. I added some ground fresh ginger as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
This is a great, quick to prepare recipe. I also used pre-chopped garlic from a jar, and half and half. Great as is, or would certainly be enhanced by some of the suggestion of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
A few additions added a LOT of flavor to this recipe: 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 - 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh ginger, 1 tsp+ each of cayenne pepper and chili powder to replace the chili sauce, and chunky peanut butter for crunch. I also used fat-free half-and-half to replace the cream (milk works well, too) because there's enough fat in the peanut butter. The half-and-half keeps it creamy. I let the sauce sit for about an hour and it was great served with a stirfry of broccoli, carrots, and red pepper over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Ugh, I really thought this would be good, but it sure wasn't. I know it sounds strange, but this was just way too ...peanut-buttery. If you're going to make this, do yourself a favor and add a lot more soy sauce and water than the recipe calls for, otherwise it will just turn out as a sticky, gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Pretty easy and quick! I used prechopped garlic, hot sauce and reduced fat peanut butter, toasted seasame oil and no cream or cilantro and it turned out just fine. You could also add fish sauce for more of a Thai flavor. Great meal if you are relying on your pantry alone :-) Jill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
These were goopy and gloppy. Of 6 of us eating dinner, 1 enjoyed them, 1 thought they were edible and the rest could not even eat one bite! The sauce looked and tasted fine on its own but I will from now on leave my spaghetti to the italians and the peanut butter to dessert or breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I use unsalted, unsweetened peanut butter and add brown sugar to taste. I also use half and half instead of cream to cut down on the calories. I throw in about 2 teaspoons of fresh ginger and a dash of cinnamon. This makes for a sweeter sauce with great savory undertones. My boyfriend begs me to make this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States