Spaghetti With Peanut Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This was pretty good, although I may have used too much pasta to the amount of sauce I had because it came out really dry and a little bland. Don't overdo it on the pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
This way very good. I used chunky peanutbutter, added some red pepper flakes, and a tablespoon of dark soy sauce. I think next time I will use angel hair pasta. Also we ate it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I used this as a sort of template to build on. I used extra garlic and soy sauce, used a thai chili paste in place of the chili sauce and also added a few drops of thai fish sauce. When I added the peanut mixture to the spaghetti, I found the taste to be too sticky, so I then added some chicken broth to thin it a bit...then voila I had a perfect pasta dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Outstanding! The leftovers were even better as the flavors "soaked" into the noodles! My boyfriend didn't like this (the PB was just too much for him BUT...perhaps if I had fed him the leftovers, he might have changed his mind? ;)) A couple changes: First, I used 1/2c HOT chicken broth instead of the water and used only 8oz spaghetti noodles so that it wouldn't be "dry." Second, right before the noodles were done, I tossed in a head of chopped broccoli into the water so that they would cook. Finally, I fried up 2 chicken breasts in a little butter and chicken broth - cut them in chunks and placed them atop the pasta. The broccoli gave this color (and I love my veggies) the chicken added some substance and the noodles tasted - well - just darn good! I would have liked this a little spicier but I can play around with that more the next SEVERAL times I make this! Thanks a bunch Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
I use unsalted, unsweetened peanut butter and add brown sugar to taste. I also use half and half instead of cream to cut down on the calories. I throw in about 2 teaspoons of fresh ginger and a dash of cinnamon. This makes for a sweeter sauce with great savory undertones. My boyfriend begs me to make this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
These were goopy and gloppy. Of 6 of us eating dinner, 1 enjoyed them, 1 thought they were edible and the rest could not even eat one bite! The sauce looked and tasted fine on its own but I will from now on leave my spaghetti to the italians and the peanut butter to dessert or breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Pretty easy and quick! I used prechopped garlic, hot sauce and reduced fat peanut butter, toasted seasame oil and no cream or cilantro and it turned out just fine. You could also add fish sauce for more of a Thai flavor. Great meal if you are relying on your pantry alone :-) Jill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Ugh, I really thought this would be good, but it sure wasn't. I know it sounds strange, but this was just way too ...peanut-buttery. If you're going to make this, do yourself a favor and add a lot more soy sauce and water than the recipe calls for, otherwise it will just turn out as a sticky, gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
A few additions added a LOT of flavor to this recipe: 1 tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 - 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh ginger, 1 tsp+ each of cayenne pepper and chili powder to replace the chili sauce, and chunky peanut butter for crunch. I also used fat-free half-and-half to replace the cream (milk works well, too) because there's enough fat in the peanut butter. The half-and-half keeps it creamy. I let the sauce sit for about an hour and it was great served with a stirfry of broccoli, carrots, and red pepper over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
This is a great, quick to prepare recipe. I also used pre-chopped garlic from a jar, and half and half. Great as is, or would certainly be enhanced by some of the suggestion of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Peanut Noodles

See how to make quick-and-easy, Asian-style peanut sauce for noodles.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States