Spaghetti With Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this pretty close to the recipe only I used fresh garlic and onions and after tasting it, I quadrupled the oregano and basil. I did not add the whole amount of salt called for, just a pinch. The capers added an interesting flavor, something I was skeptical about, honestly. I can't say that we liked it or didn't. IMO, it just made it saltier. This is a decent sauce but it really does need more spices. I think this is a sauce that tastes better the longer it sits so next time, I'll make it a day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Instead of using crushed tomatoes, I always subtitute an extra can of diced and a can of stewed. Omit the capers and add a chopped onion. I also use 1 tablespoon of fresh basil instead of dried, when possible. Dump the ingredients in the slow cooker in the morning, and by the afternoon/evening, my kitchen smells so good. Before serving, I put the tomato chunks in a food processor or blender to smooth it out and even out the taste and acidity. The leftover sauce freezes/reheats quite well. My 1 year old gobbles this stuff up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I was disappointed with this recipe. It was too watery for my liking. Lacked flavor. I will not make this again. I am still searching for a good spaghetti sauce. One that is thicker in texture. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I've had better sauces on this site - not enough garlic, oregano, basil, or sugar. I upped the spices signifigantly and added a can of tomatoe paste to thicken it a bit. I love the addition of the capers, but it wasn't enough to but this recipe over the top as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Had a family reunion & needed a tasty sauce to keep my Italian sausage in during serving. Followed the recipe pretty much. No capers. Sauteed an onion & added 3 bay leaves. Guests asked for the name of the caterer that catered the party. That burst my buttons!! Half of the food was catered & I prepared the rest. This ones's a keeper. Thanks Angchick P.S. Forgot to mention that I also put some pork neck bones in the oven 350 degrees for one hour & then added them to the sauce while it simmered. This does make a big difference. I do this with all my tomato sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I made this last night for my family (along with a meatball recipe I found on this site). Excellent recipe! This is so fast and so easy to make. I'm going to play with it a little next time and add some mushrooms and olives. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This is absolutely without a doubt the best marinara I have ever had except at a restaurant here in Memphis. The red pepper gives it a nice kick (the Italians have a name for marinara like this and it has the word devil in it lol) I don't like chunks, so I use a food processor etc to liquify the tomatoes. Try it, you will love it and it is super low low fat and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was very good. I simmered mine in the crock pot for 4 hours on low. The only thing I didn't add was the capers. My family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This was a very, very tasty marinara sauce, which rivaled even store bought brands. We didn't have a can of crushed tomatoes and substituted a can of diced tomatoes with chili peppers (rinsed that can). We didn't have capers but it was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was my very first foray into making my own spaghetti sauce and it was super easy. I followed the recipe, w/the exception of leaving out the capers and upping the spices just a touch. This is a great base sauce you can doctor many ways to get to your liking. I like it as is; we ate it w/home made meatballs on meatball sandwiches and we were happy campers. Literally. ;) TY for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States