Spaghetti With Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I made this pretty close to the recipe only I used fresh garlic and onions and after tasting it, I quadrupled the oregano and basil. I did not add the whole amount of salt called for, just a pinch. The capers added an interesting flavor, something I was skeptical about, honestly. I can't say that we liked it or didn't. IMO, it just made it saltier. This is a decent sauce but it really does need more spices. I think this is a sauce that tastes better the longer it sits so next time, I'll make it a day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Instead of using crushed tomatoes, I always subtitute an extra can of diced and a can of stewed. Omit the capers and add a chopped onion. I also use 1 tablespoon of fresh basil instead of dried, when possible. Dump the ingredients in the slow cooker in the morning, and by the afternoon/evening, my kitchen smells so good. Before serving, I put the tomato chunks in a food processor or blender to smooth it out and even out the taste and acidity. The leftover sauce freezes/reheats quite well. My 1 year old gobbles this stuff up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I was disappointed with this recipe. It was too watery for my liking. Lacked flavor. I will not make this again. I am still searching for a good spaghetti sauce. One that is thicker in texture. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I've had better sauces on this site - not enough garlic, oregano, basil, or sugar. I upped the spices signifigantly and added a can of tomatoe paste to thicken it a bit. I love the addition of the capers, but it wasn't enough to but this recipe over the top as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Had a family reunion & needed a tasty sauce to keep my Italian sausage in during serving. Followed the recipe pretty much. No capers. Sauteed an onion & added 3 bay leaves. Guests asked for the name of the caterer that catered the party. That burst my buttons!! Half of the food was catered & I prepared the rest. This ones's a keeper. Thanks Angchick P.S. Forgot to mention that I also put some pork neck bones in the oven 350 degrees for one hour & then added them to the sauce while it simmered. This does make a big difference. I do this with all my tomato sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I made this last night for my family (along with a meatball recipe I found on this site). Excellent recipe! This is so fast and so easy to make. I'm going to play with it a little next time and add some mushrooms and olives. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
This is absolutely without a doubt the best marinara I have ever had except at a restaurant here in Memphis. The red pepper gives it a nice kick (the Italians have a name for marinara like this and it has the word devil in it lol) I don't like chunks, so I use a food processor etc to liquify the tomatoes. Try it, you will love it and it is super low low fat and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was very good. I simmered mine in the crock pot for 4 hours on low. The only thing I didn't add was the capers. My family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This was a very, very tasty marinara sauce, which rivaled even store bought brands. We didn't have a can of crushed tomatoes and substituted a can of diced tomatoes with chili peppers (rinsed that can). We didn't have capers but it was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was my very first foray into making my own spaghetti sauce and it was super easy. I followed the recipe, w/the exception of leaving out the capers and upping the spices just a touch. This is a great base sauce you can doctor many ways to get to your liking. I like it as is; we ate it w/home made meatballs on meatball sandwiches and we were happy campers. Literally. ;) TY for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States