Spaghetti With Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
I added two cans of tomato sauce and didn't use any crushed/diced tomatoes, since I have picky eaters who don't like chunks. I also added an extra teaspoon of sugar to the mix, to take away the extra "tang." Not bad, for a first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was pretty good. I'm still on my search for amazing sauce though. Here's what I did differently: I put the diced tomatoes in a blender because I didn't want a chunky sauce. I used a good amount of fresh basil instead of the dried. Also, I added about 1/4 tsp. onion powder along with the other spices. I omitted the capers and crushed red pepper for the kids sake but added extra ground black pepper. I also cooked up about 1/2 lb. mild italian sausage and added that to the sauce. I tasted it and it seemed a bit acidic so I added about 1 Tbsp. of olive oil. I will probably make again and keep trying to tweak with different tomato products, etc. to see if I can get what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Instead of using crushed tomatoes, I always subtitute an extra can of diced and a can of stewed. Omit the capers and add a chopped onion. I also use 1 tablespoon of fresh basil instead of dried, when possible. Dump the ingredients in the slow cooker in the morning, and by the afternoon/evening, my kitchen smells so good. Before serving, I put the tomato chunks in a food processor or blender to smooth it out and even out the taste and acidity. The leftover sauce freezes/reheats quite well. My 1 year old gobbles this stuff up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I'm searching for a sauce similiar in taste/textue to Prego Mushroom with Extra Spice. This was almost as good! The capers were an interesting addition. I made a double batch and got 4 meals for my small family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I will never buy jarred sauce again! This marinara was so easy to make and tasted so fresh. I made some substitutions to the original recipe to make the flavors pop even more: 4 fresh chopped garlic cloves, 2 T. chopped fresh basil and roma tomatoes in place of the diced canned tomatoes. My husband said it was every bit as good as good Italian restaurant sauce. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Good. I like the flavor the capers added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I was disappointed with this recipe. It was too watery for my liking. Lacked flavor. I will not make this again. I am still searching for a good spaghetti sauce. One that is thicker in texture. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This sauce was AWESOME!!!! I started out the evening wih not a CLUE what to make for dinner, but thanks to this recipe we had a WONDERFUL dinner! My husband RAVED about the sauce! I doubled the recipe and froze the remainder. Our 9 year old liked it, but the 6 year old didn't...*It's too spicy*. Granted, it does have kick, but then I added just a tiny bit more of the herbs and spicies than the recipe called for. We will DEFINATELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
I wasn't too sure about this sauce at first, but after letting it sit for a day or too I thought it was wonderful. The flavor was just perfect, and I liked the capers, which I've never had before. I also added the red pepper flakes and thought they gave the sauce a nice kick. The only changes I made were I cut the recipe in half and used just one can of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Delicious sauce! I grated a carrot and 1/2 zucchini into the sauce, and added a little olive oil. It makes a lot of sauce--we're using the leftovers for pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States