Spaghetti With Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Used recipe to can 3 1/2 lbs of tomatoes. I added 2 cans of tomato sauce to make 3 quarts. Also, I pureed the capers before including in the sauce. Its a unique taste especially with the capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I added a couple shots of red wine to cut down the bitterness... the sugar didn't seem to be enough. Good basic sauce with lots of room to doctor up the spices to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was my very first foray into making my own spaghetti sauce and it was super easy. I followed the recipe, w/the exception of leaving out the capers and upping the spices just a touch. This is a great base sauce you can doctor many ways to get to your liking. I like it as is; we ate it w/home made meatballs on meatball sandwiches and we were happy campers. Literally. ;) TY for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I loved this. I did increase the sugar since I like a sweeter sauce, and I increased the oregano and basil a lot. I make this in huge batches and keep it in the refrigerator for spaghetti, pizza, and on heavily toasted, thick slices of homemade whole wheat bread, with Parmesan cheese sprinkled on top--that's our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Very good and flavorful. I cooked mine in the crock pot. The only change I made was to reduce the sugar to just a dash; I could still taste the sugar even with just a little bit in, so I can't imagine how sugary it would be if it were two whole teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
At first, I was thinking this recipe would be too tomato-y, but it came out delicious, much better than sauce in a jar/can and didn't take too long to put together. I didn't have crushed tomatoes, so I put a can of chopped tomatoes in our "Ultimate Chopper" for 3 seconds and it came out fine. We had with frozen turkey meatballs. Next time I will try with fresh herbs. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRELANDMEALS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I love this recipe! So easy to prepare and I make extra so I can freeze it for another day. I added extra garlic, some finely chopped white onion and simmered the sauce for 2-3hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyd1102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was great, although I tweaked it a bit. I sauteed an onion and a package of sliced mushrooms and then tossed in the garlic. Then I added a cup of red wine and cooked that down, then followed the recipe as is. It was a little watery after an hour, so I probably simmered it an additional 30-40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This is WONDERFUL!! Will make this again and again. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I was so worried about this sauce because it started out watery, however I let it simmer for 45 min with regular stirrings and it was rockstar by the end! Was also a little worried about the capers but again was so glad I went with my instincts. My boyfriend and I agree it's 10X better then any jarred sauce. I did add onion and extra garlic and just eyeballed the seasonings as I added them, I also realized I didn't have any diced tomatoes so I just went on without them but it was great!! I am so glad I found this recipe because I always feel like when I get done with my spaghetti there is water instead of sauce left on my plate and this sauce definitely solved this problem. I will say you have to let it simmer for at least 45 min but it is great! Will use it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mstanzel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Gnocchi in Fontina Sauce

What's cooking in Long Beach? The perfect potato gnocchi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States