Spaghetti With Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This recipe was excellent. Everybody in my family loved it. Plus, I didn't realize making my own spaghetti sauch would be so easy. I won't be using it out of the jar anymore. It's definitely a regular addition to our menu now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Had a family reunion & needed a tasty sauce to keep my Italian sausage in during serving. Followed the recipe pretty much. No capers. Sauteed an onion & added 3 bay leaves. Guests asked for the name of the caterer that catered the party. That burst my buttons!! Half of the food was catered & I prepared the rest. This ones's a keeper. Thanks Angchick P.S. Forgot to mention that I also put some pork neck bones in the oven 350 degrees for one hour & then added them to the sauce while it simmered. This does make a big difference. I do this with all my tomato sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I thought this was a very good sauce. I added the "mixture for meatballs, meatloaf..." and it was perfect. My husband though liked his with Parmesan on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Very sweet, but I liked it a lot. We had so much extra so we've put it in the freezer for an easy meal down the road.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Very nice base offers lots of options
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Preston, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Wow. Minor changes were subbing sweetener (sweet n low drops equal to 4 packets) for white sugar, 1 tblsp of brown sugar, 2 more cans of tomato sauce and omitted pepper/capers. Perfect! The sweetener offsets the tangy tomato imo. Try this, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was one of the better marinara sauces I have tried. Left out the capers because I didn't have. I think it would have been better though if had 2 cans cruched instead of 1 crushed and 1 diced.. It was thick enough for me and too chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was a really good sauce. My diced tomatoes were Italian seasoned and I used 2 7 oz. boxes of Del Fuerte brand mexican tomato sauce. No capers. I gave this a generous pinch of crushed red pepper. I used this sauce to make beef stuffed manicotti and the dish turned out fabulous thanks to this great sauce. I will definitely make this one again. I simmered mine for over 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! I've only made it twice. The first time, I tripled the recipe and simmered it for a few hours. I also added a pound of cooked crumbled beef. Yummy. The second time, I didn't have crushed tomatoes so I added another can of diced tomatoes and a can of tomato soup, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I've had better sauces on this site - not enough garlic, oregano, basil, or sugar. I upped the spices signifigantly and added a can of tomatoe paste to thicken it a bit. I love the addition of the capers, but it wasn't enough to but this recipe over the top as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States